WebPagetest Forums
Script validation - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Bugs/Issues (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Script validation (/showthread.php?tid=11463)



Script validation - praveen9 - 07-22-2012 11:28 PM

The written script is executed in online but is there any log file that is available so that i can check whether a particular step is executed or failed


RE: Script validation - pmeenan - 07-25-2012 01:09 AM

Unfortunately there isn't any logging for scripts right now. The only real way to debug them is to install the IE browser plugin that is part of WebPagetest (stand-alone installer for the plugin is here - http://code.google.com/p/webpagetest/downloads/detail?name=Pagetest_325.msi&can=2&q=#makechanges ) then if you go to tools->AOL Pagetest a new window will open and you can tell it to run a script.


RE: Script validation - vhochstein - 07-26-2012 03:25 AM

Hi Pat,

Ive got a similar issue with a script using click action.
Ive tried it with AOL Pagetest Plugin and it worked. (Well, at the end after some seconds Waterfall window is refreshed with a blank screen, but at least click action is executed)

If I try it with webpagetest.org I am running into timeouts or my scripted click event is nt executed.

logData 0
navigate http://www.heise.de
logData 1
click title=Newsticker Classic

Any ideas what might be wrong?
Thanks a lot in advance.

--
Volker


RE: Script validation - pmeenan - 08-01-2012 04:37 AM

Chrome/Firefox or IE? I think IE works for following anchor tags with click events but Chrome/Firefox do not.

Any reason you can't just use another navigate? Looks like the URL is fixed and doesn't change.


RE: Script validation - vhochstein - 08-14-2012 05:27 PM

(08-01-2012 04:37 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Chrome/Firefox or IE? I think IE works for following anchor tags with click events but Chrome/Firefox do not.

Any reason you can't just use another navigate? Looks like the URL is fixed and doesn't change.

Hi Pat, sorry for my late response. Ive tried ie, chrome and firefox and it did not work with any of them.

My test case is simplified to focus on my anchor issue. The real use case is to login to a site and afterwards pressing on an anchor link.

Should I try another command than click to achieve my goal, or is nt it possible at all?

Thanks a lot in advance.

--
volker


RE: Script validation - pmeenan - 08-15-2012 12:19 PM

Is the anchor link always to a URL that is consistent or does it need to execute javascrpt attached to it? If it is just navigating to a well-defined URL then I'd recommend a navigate command. Otherwise you may have to resort to execAndWait and use javascript to do the navigation.