WebPagetest Forums
Load Balance Tests - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Bugs/Issues (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Load Balance Tests (/showthread.php?tid=11605)



Load Balance Tests - hxmws - 08-30-2012 12:14 AM

Hi All,

Quick question, is it possible to load balance tests across multiple nodes?

Maybe having two testing nodes configured the same? (i.e looking at the same /jobs directory). I'm using WPT for monitoring our websites but this becomes difficult when the node dies :-)

Thanks


RE: Load Balance Tests - pmeenan - 08-30-2012 01:03 AM

Yes. That's actually how the Dulles location for webpagetest.org is configured. There are 16 agents all configured with the same location ID pulling from the same work queue. The HTTP Archive has 95 machines pulling from a single location and I've had as many as 500 at one point.

The agents basically get the work on a first-come first-served basis but the system fully supports multiple agents working for a given location.


RE: Load Balance Tests - hxmws - 08-31-2012 12:38 AM

(08-30-2012 01:03 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Yes. That's actually how the Dulles location for webpagetest.org is configured. There are 16 agents all configured with the same location ID pulling from the same work queue. The HTTP Archive has 95 machines pulling from a single location and I've had as many as 500 at one point.

The agents basically get the work on a first-come first-served basis but the system fully supports multiple agents working for a given location.

Perfect! Thanks Patrick