WebPagetest Forums
Ability to specify a DNS Resolver - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Feature Suggestions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Thread: Ability to specify a DNS Resolver (/showthread.php?tid=12464)



Ability to specify a DNS Resolver - pganti - 08-08-2013 08:14 AM

It would be real helpful to have a setDnsResolver as a verb in the scripting to use a google or custom dns resolver to measure the impact of dns on webperf apart from doing some a/b testing


RE: Ability to specify a DNS Resolver - pmeenan - 08-09-2013 05:28 AM

The IE agent supports it but it isn't something I have implemented for the Chrome/Firefox testing. It's not documented because I didn't plan on supporting it long-term but you can do:

setDNSServers 4.4.4.4,4.4.8.8


RE: Ability to specify a DNS Resolver - pganti - 08-09-2013 08:37 AM

(08-09-2013 05:28 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  The IE agent supports it but it isn't something I have implemented for the Chrome/Firefox testing. It's not documented because I didn't plan on supporting it long-term but you can do:

setDNSServers 4.4.4.4,4.4.8.8

Thats nice! Thank you


RE: Ability to specify a DNS Resolver - ashana - 12-04-2014 10:22 PM

wondering if there is any update on this - and if there is plan on supporting DNS resolver for chrome,firefox..

i tried to use setDNSServers on chrome and IE on latest WPT- but did not seem like it worked.


RE: Ability to specify a DNS Resolver - pmeenan - 12-04-2014 11:28 PM

I don't see getting time to implement for at least the next 3 months. I'll happily accept a pull request if someone wants to port the code from urlblaster to wptdriver but otherwise it's probably not worth counting on (higher priority stuff always comes up).