WebPagetest Forums
Links on website: & vs. & ... different for Google? Duplicate Content? - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Optimization Discussions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: Links on website: & vs. & ... different for Google? Duplicate Content? (/showthread.php?tid=12731)



Links on website: & vs. & ... different for Google? Duplicate Content? - Markus - 12-17-2013 09:39 AM

ASP.NET MVC Helper made that on the an archive page like ...
Code:
http://www.finanznachrichten.de/suche/uebersicht.htm?von=10.11.2013&bis=10.11.2013&medium=dpa-afx
... we got these URLs in the HTML:

<head>:
Code:
<link rel="canonical" href="http://www.finanznachrichten.de/suche/uebersicht.htm?von=10.11.2013&amp;bis=10.11.2013&amp;medium=dpa-afx" />

Breadcrumbs in <body>:
Code:
<span typeof="v:Breadcrumb"><a rel="v:url" property="v:title" href="http://www.finanznachrichten.de/suche/uebersicht.htm?von=10.11.2013&amp;bis=10.11.2013&amp;medium=dpa-afx" title="dpa-AFX - News vom 10.11.2013">dpa-AFX - News vom 10.11.2013</a></span>

Now the big question:
Is an URL with & for Google search the same as the URL with &amp; OR do I have 2 different URLs (= duplicate content)?

According to this it is different in Google Maps:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/19678879/why-does-google-not-support-valid-urls-with-amp-in-query-string


What is your opinion?


RE: Links on website: & vs. &amp; ... different for Google? Duplicate Content? - robzilla - 12-17-2013 08:33 PM

My opinion is that Googlebot will simply convert the &amp; in a URL to &, like any browser would (except in the source code, of course). Sounds to me like basic functionality for a search engine spider, so I really wouldn't worry about this.

Also, searching site:http://www.finanznachrichten.de/suche/uebersicht.htm inurl:amp currently returns no results.