WebPagetest Forums
SCript + API - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Thread: SCript + API (/showthread.php?tid=13081)



SCript + API - miquelangeld - 07-09-2014 09:36 PM

I need to launch tests using the RestAPI and specify the IP to test. I'm trying to pass the script in the URL but I do smething wrong. ┬┐how can I pass two lines script as script parameter in the URL?

I use
setdns <host> <ip>
navigate <url>

How can I pass this as script argument?

thanks in advance.


RE: SCript + API - pmeenan - 07-10-2014 01:11 AM

You need to urlencode it. For example, this script:

Code:
setdns    www.aol.com    1.2.3.4
navigate    www.aol.com

would be passed as:

Code:
&script=setdns%09www.aol.com%091.2.3.4%0Anavigate%09www.aol.com

If you use POST you would form-encode it.

I usually use http://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/dencoder/ to do the urlencoding if I'm doing it manually. In code whatever platform you are using to send the API calls should have support for url-encoding parameters.


RE: SCript + API - miquelangeld - 07-14-2014 05:19 PM

Thanks Patrick!
(07-10-2014 01:11 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  You need to urlencode it. For example, this script:

Code:
setdns    www.aol.com    1.2.3.4
navigate    www.aol.com

would be passed as:

Code:
&script=setdns%09www.aol.com%091.2.3.4%0Anavigate%09www.aol.com

If you use POST you would form-encode it.

I usually use http://meyerweb.com/eric/tools/dencoder/ to do the urlencoding if I'm doing it manually. In code whatever platform you are using to send the API calls should have support for url-encoding parameters.