WebPagetest Forums
Passing CDN - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Thread: Passing CDN (/showthread.php?tid=13097)



Passing CDN - filbert - 07-19-2014 07:43 PM

My CDN results are only 2%. How can I improve it?


RE: Passing CDN - pmeenan - 07-22-2014 06:34 AM

Do you have a link to your test result? It should provide a list of assets that were not served from a CDN that it thought should be. Also, what is your user base? If you have users from around the world then it makes a lot of sense but if your users are all from one region then it may not be necessary.


RE: Passing CDN - filbert - 08-04-2014 08:41 PM

I lost the previous test result. So, I run again the test result. Here is the result.
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140804_N6_D1X/


RE: Passing CDN - pmeenan - 08-05-2014 02:47 AM

Looking at your current results it looks like all of your static content is served from the main domain. If you want to use a CDN you can either sign up for one that lets you run your main HTML through it (like Cloudflare) or move all of your images, js and css to a static domain that is on a CDN.

If your user base is all local to the UK you probably don't want a CDN though so just make sure it actually makes sense. They will make it faster for a global audience but things might actually get slower for visits from the UK.


RE: Passing CDN - filbert - 08-13-2014 01:06 PM

Thanks Patrick for that advise.


RE: Passing CDN - mrPerezMarc - 08-14-2014 01:15 AM

You could load more items in parallel by creating a new cname and pointing it to your image folder and load 50% of your images from http://www.best-pestcontrol.co.uk & img.best-pestcontrol.co.uk