WebPagetest Forums
are mobile device tests working? - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Thread: are mobile device tests working? (/showthread.php?tid=13225)



are mobile device tests working? - amoeba - 09-09-2014 12:27 AM

Hi, I'm unable to get any good results from the android or iphone devices in Dulles, VA. Simply getting

The test failed to run.
timeout

and the screenshots show an about:blank page. Have tried a few times today.

However, the waterfalls are showing all the right requests, so I am assuming they are working, which may be good enough for now Smile


RE: are mobile device tests working? - pmeenan - 09-10-2014 11:46 PM

Do you have a sample result?

Here's an Android test I just ran: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140910_76_K21/

and iOS: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140910_4S_JWN/


RE: are mobile device tests working? - shmilla - 11-28-2014 02:04 AM

(09-10-2014 11:46 PM)pmeenan Wrote:  Do you have a sample result?

Here's an Android test I just ran: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140910_76_K21/

and iOS: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140910_4S_JWN/

I'm having similar issues. I'm trying some VERY basic script tests using setDnsName and Navigate through the webpagetest UI , and even the most basic script "navigate" by itself fails

iPhone 4 iOS 5.1 - empty result
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141127_N8_d034a04a09849c914938691672661d7d


Nexus 5 - getGUID error
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141125_JG_10157e228439c339eb0ec0b483c060e0/

Interestingly enough, when I switched from 1 run to 2 runs, and turned on repeat view, I seem to get a little more success, albeit with an error or two
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141127_RB_b450e7aaaf67f961c9f5738ca55323b0/


As a side note, I'm just trying to understand what capabilities wpt has around actual mobile testing and validate what scripts work across HTTP/HTTPS across various devices.


RE: are mobile device tests working? - shmilla - 01-20-2015 07:17 AM

(11-28-2014 02:04 AM)shmilla Wrote:  
(09-10-2014 11:46 PM)pmeenan Wrote:  Do you have a sample result?

Here's an Android test I just ran: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140910_76_K21/

and iOS: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140910_4S_JWN/

I'm having similar issues. I'm trying some VERY basic script tests using setDnsName and Navigate through the webpagetest UI , and even the most basic script "navigate" by itself fails

iPhone 4 iOS 5.1 - empty result
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141127_N8_d034a04a09849c914938691672661d7d


Nexus 5 - getGUID error
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141125_JG_10157e228439c339eb0ec0b483c060e0/

Interestingly enough, when I switched from 1 run to 2 runs, and turned on repeat view, I seem to get a little more success, albeit with an error or two
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/141127_RB_b450e7aaaf67f961c9f5738ca55323b0/


As a side note, I'm just trying to understand what capabilities wpt has around actual mobile testing and validate what scripts work across HTTP/HTTPS across various devices.

Hi, I thought I'd bump this again. I tried a sample test again

Simple Navigate
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/150119_CR_fb2256d5676f74fc8d307c7a2ee95314/

Navigate + setDnsName
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/150119_75_0f26f443c8d6c77847974fef2d1caad9/

And I get Object #<process> has no method 'getuid'. I believe I saw the UI say setDnsName and navigate are valid, so I'm struggling to understand if I'm doing something wrong.


RE: are mobile device tests working? - pmeenan - 01-20-2015 09:03 AM

The mobile agents don't support the WebPagetest scripting (yet anyway), no matter how basic.


RE: are mobile device tests working? - shmilla - 01-21-2015 01:45 AM

(01-20-2015 09:03 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  The mobile agents don't support the WebPagetest scripting (yet anyway), no matter how basic.

Thanks Pat, the UI gave a warning and a sample script on my first attempt (late November?) saying only setDnsName and navigate were supported, so I thought that had been addressed.