WebPagetest Forums
Akamai CDN not detected - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Discuss Test Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Akamai CDN not detected (/showthread.php?tid=13396)



Akamai CDN not detected - AHThomas - 11-24-2014 11:13 AM

We use Akamai to accelerate xjobs.brassring.com. The CNAME for that domain points to wildcard.brassring.com.edgekey.net which is another CNAME record that points to wildcard.brassring.com.edgekey.net.globalredir.akadns.net.
WPT is not detecting that xjobs.brassring.com is being served by Akamai.
Thanks.


RE: Akamai CDN not detected - pmeenan - 11-24-2014 11:26 PM

Is it actually serving through Akamai's CDN or is it using Akamai's DNS for GSLB? AFAIK, akadns.net is used for the DNS-based GSLB and not edge-serving CDN.


RE: Akamai CDN not detected - AHThomas - 11-25-2014 12:35 AM

Yes, we're serving thru Akamai's CDN. edgekey.net is one of their CDN domains: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akamai_Technologies#Content-delivery_networks_and_domains


RE: Akamai CDN not detected - pmeenan - 11-25-2014 01:05 AM

Thanks. I just added a bunch of the CNAMEs that I didn't have before: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpagetest/commit/ee6d4fcd2226489261ff60898e9e969ca76d3c29

It will probably be a week or so before the change is rolled out to the test agents though.


RE: Akamai CDN not detected - AHThomas - 11-26-2014 01:12 AM

(11-25-2014 01:05 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Thanks. I just added a bunch of the CNAMEs that I didn't have before: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpagetest/commit/ee6d4fcd2226489261ff60898e9e969ca76d3c29

It will probably be a week or so before the change is rolled out to the test agents though.

Great, thanks!