WebPagetest Forums
No keep-alive with Lite Speed - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Optimization Discussions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Thread: No keep-alive with Lite Speed (/showthread.php?tid=13553)



No keep-alive with Lite Speed - Andy5000 - 02-20-2015 09:48 AM

After running tests on one https site it became clear that we were missing 'keep alive' and it was the major thing hurting us. After trying to enable it in .htaccess didn't work, we sent a ticket to the hosting company. Here is their reply:
Quote:Sorry, we are using LiteSpeed web service in our server. So this feature doesn't support for your site. Feel free to contact us if you have any further queries.

When I look at the LiteSpeed site I see that there should be some keep alive capability. Is it possible we got a bad tech answering and should escalate the ticket,or was he correct and we should start looking for a different host?


RE: No keep-alive with Lite Speed - pmeenan - 02-24-2015 07:07 AM

I think it's more likely that your hosting provider has chosen to disable keep-alives globally for all of their users (some also disabled gzip). If that's the case my recommendation would be to take your business to a different hosting provider.


RE: No keep-alive with Lite Speed - Andy5000 - 02-24-2015 07:12 AM

When we pushed them they sad they could move us to an Apache server. (surprised they didn't mention that the first time).