WebPagetest Forums
Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Private Instances (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) (/showthread.php?tid=14105)

Pages: 1 2


Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - jujis008 - 12-10-2015 01:18 PM

Hi pmeenan,
I was running WPT on windows7(X64), everything looks fine, but not work by using firefox and chrome, they could open firefox/chrome window but always time-out, i can see it is using proxy like 127.0.0.1/blank2.html to connect the target url. but the urlblast was working fine by IE. Anyone have this error before, expect your reply. thanks in advance. Smile


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - jujis008 - 12-11-2015 01:36 PM

Anyone have this issue? client test stuck at this page. First View
(Error: 2147483647) screen shot disappeared.


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - pmeenan - 12-16-2015 02:15 AM

What version of wptdriver.exe are you running? If it's reasonably old it may not work with the current browser releases. You can update the agent using the instructions here: https://sites.google.com/a/webpagetest.org/docs/private-instances#TOC-Updating-Test-Agents


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - jujis008 - 01-21-2016 05:02 PM

really appreciate your replies, I am using the latest version v218, the WPT working under IE8, but failed both chrome and FF, I can see that in FF the stuck at http://127.0.0.1:8888/blank.html page and chrome at http://127.0.0.1:8888/blank2.html page and than shows
Quote:TIMEOUT
force closed the browser, I was wondering this scenario happened because the proxy? because there a proxy settings on my computer to surf internet. but if setting proxy in proxy server in wpt_driver.ini, the browse would be blocked by the proxy server. aw, really a headache things. kindly expect your reply.

attach my settings in WTP_Driver:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://10.129.113.223/
location=Local-WPTDriver
browser=chrome
Time Limit=1200
;key=TestKey123
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
;software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat
debug=1

[chrome]
exe="C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
--user-data-dir="%WPTDIR%\user_data"
;installer=http://10.59.178.213/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
;installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

;[Safari]
;exe="C:\Program Files\Safari\Safari.exe"

;[IE]
;exe="C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

also urlblast:
[Configuration]
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\webpagetest\agent\urlblast
Timeout=120
use current account=1

; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://10.129.113.223/work/
Location=Local-URLBlast
;Location Key=TestKey123


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - pmeenan - 01-21-2016 11:01 PM

2.18 is the full release including the web UI. If you haven't updated the agent code themselves (link I included above) it would explain the behavior you are seeing. I'm planning on releasing 2.19 this week which will include those fixes as well as the ability to automatically update the agents to avoid the manual step.


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - jujis008 - 01-25-2016 06:34 PM

yeah, that's great!!!. thanks a lot man !!


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - jujis008 - 01-29-2016 09:33 PM

Hi Patrick,
I have a question about the agent grab video frames, when did the agent capture a screen shot? based on timeline or every 1 second? not sure about that. appreciate if you can help me on this. thanks a lot. Smile


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - pmeenan - 01-30-2016 06:43 AM

Which agents? Desktop agents capture every 100ms and the mobile agents record video and extract the frames from the video.


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - jujis008 - 01-30-2016 01:02 PM

Yeah, great ! I mean Desktop agents, but it doesn't make sense, from the test result video folder they are not every 100 ms per each video frame?


RE: Agent cannot connect to network(Time out for firefox and chrome) - pmeenan - 01-31-2016 01:18 AM

It removes any frames where there were no pixels that changed. The only frames that are actually stored are the frames where the content actually changed (starting from a set of frames that were recorded every 100ms).

Web pages tend to be very bursty and it's not unusual to only have a few actual paint/content changes during a page load.