WebPagetest Forums
How to configure location.ini - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Private Instances (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: How to configure location.ini (/showthread.php?tid=14836)



How to configure location.ini - sally - 03-31-2017 06:56 PM

I'd like to configure the agents similar with the location "Dulles, VA USA (Desktop,Android,iOS 9)" as below. Under this location, there will be 9 desktop agents. Among them, 3 agents are with IE9, 3 are with IE10 and 3 are with IE11. But all are with other browsers, e.g. Chrome, Firefox. E.g. when user selects Chrome, it should pick up a free agent from 9 agents. When user select IE9, it should pick up a free agent from 3 agents with IE9. And also, there will some mobile devices which need to be able to selected in the browser list as well.

Would you please provide a sample location.ini for this case? Thanks a lot!

[attachment=698]


RE: How to configure location.ini - pmeenan - 03-31-2017 10:29 PM

wptdriver.ini can use a comma-separated list of locations that the agent can pull tests from so the IE 9 agents would be configured like:

location=Dulles_IE9,Dulles

and the IE 10 locations would be configured like:

location=Dulles_IE10,Dulles

Then on the server the "Dulles" location would have only the shared browsers (Chrome and Firefox) and the IE release-specific versions would go into the separate locations. Roughly:

[Dulles_group]
1=Dulles
2=Dulles_IE9
3=Dulles_IE10

[Dulles]
browser=Chrome,Firefox

[Dulles_IE9]
browser=IE 9

[Dulles_IE10]
browser=IE 10


RE: How to configure location.ini - sally - 04-01-2017 12:45 PM

(03-31-2017 10:29 PM)pmeenan Wrote:  wptdriver.ini can use a comma-separated list of locations that the agent can pull tests from so the IE 9 agents would be configured like:

location=Dulles_IE9,Dulles

and the IE 10 locations would be configured like:

location=Dulles_IE10,Dulles

Then on the server the "Dulles" location would have only the shared browsers (Chrome and Firefox) and the IE release-specific versions would go into the separate locations. Roughly:

[Dulles_group]
1=Dulles
2=Dulles_IE9
3=Dulles_IE10

[Dulles]
browser=Chrome,Firefox

[Dulles_IE9]
browser=IE 9

[Dulles_IE10]
browser=IE 10

It works well. Thank you so much for your help!