WebPagetest Forums
CPU Utilization - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: General Discussion (/forumdisplay.php?fid=25)
+--- Thread: CPU Utilization (/showthread.php?tid=15104)



CPU Utilization - vmoudy - 10-31-2017 02:20 AM

From this thread, the CPU utilization is the virtual machine that is running the browser. Is there a way to increase this virtual machine? I'm using wpt on a private server but didn't set it up. Thanks in advance.


RE: CPU Utilization - pmeenan - 10-31-2017 10:50 PM

Sure, you need to use faster hardware or VM's. If you're on the cloud that means larger instances.

You'll need to talk to whoever set up your instance though.


RE: CPU Utilization - vmoudy - 11-02-2017 03:37 AM


Yeah, we are on an ec2 m4.large. Gonna bump that up, thanks!



RE: CPU Utilization - pmeenan - 11-02-2017 03:51 AM

FWIW, I usually use c4.large for the agents. It is cheaper than m4 (in the spot market) and has slightly more CPU. If you need bigger than that I'd go with c4.xlarge (rather than the m4 equivalent).