Current time: 12-19-2014, 08:45 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Problems with Firefox config
01-14-2013, 10:49 AM
Post: #1
Problems with Firefox config
Hi all,

I'm having some problems getting a private instance of WPT working with Firefox. I'm reasonably sure the problem is configuration related, but I can't spot exactly where. IE works OK. I am guessing the problem is in WPT retrieving the job - they queue up and never go anywhere.

Below are my config files for URLBlast and the WPT driver, as well as locations.ini. I have made a couple of changes / additions in an effort to get things working, so some of the config entries are probably unnecessary. Can anyone spot where I'm going wrong?

Also of interest: If I try to kick off a test pointed at my Firefox instance, WPT reports that there are 6 other tests waiting. This doesn't seem right as the work/jobs/<etc> folders are empty, so I'm not sure how it calculates this figure?

Any help gratefully received!

Thanks
Ben.


WPTDriver.ini:
Code:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://centos:8888/
location=BensPC
browser=IE8,Firefox
key=TestKey123

[BensPC-Firefox]
browser=Firefox
label="Bens PC - FireFox 18"
exe="C:\Program Files)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
location=BensPC-Firefox
key=TestKey456
;installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

locations.ini:
Code:
[locations]
1=BensPC
default=BensPC

[BensPC]
1=BensPC-IE8
2=BensPC-Firefox
label=BensPC

[BensPC-IE8]
browser=IE8
latency=0
label="Bens PC - IE 8"
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
key=TestKey123

[BensPC-Firefox]
browser=Firefox
label="Bens PC - FireFox 18"
key=TestKey456

URLBlast.ini
Code:
[Configuration]
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\webpagetest\agent\urlblast
Timeout=120
use current account=1

; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://centos:8888/work/
Location=BensPC-IE8
Location Key=TestKey123
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2013, 06:00 AM
Post: #2
RE: Problems with Firefox config
Your wptdriver.ini should be pointing to the BensPC-Firefox location and should use the TestKey456 key.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2013, 06:08 AM
Post: #3
RE: Problems with Firefox config
Thanks for the reply, Patrick, but I'm not sure I understand what you mean: Looking at WPTDriver.ini, to me it looks like it's already pointing to BensPC-Firefox with TestKey456?

Would you be able to copy / paste a corrected version of the file so I can see where I'm going wrong?

Thanks for your help.
Ben.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2013, 06:11 AM (This post was last modified: 01-16-2013 06:11 AM by pmeenan.)
Post: #4
RE: Problems with Firefox config
According to what you pasted above, the wptdriver.ini is:

Code:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://centos:8888/
location=BensPC
browser=IE8,Firefox
key=TestKey123

[BensPC-Firefox]
browser=Firefox
label="Bens PC - FireFox 18"
exe="C:\Program Files)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
location=BensPC-Firefox
key=TestKey456
;installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

it should be:
Code:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://centos:8888/
location=BensPC-Firefox
browser=Firefox
key=TestKey456

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
template=firefox
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2013, 06:14 AM
Post: #5
RE: Problems with Firefox config
Ah! I see what you did there.

Will give it a shot when I'm back in the office. Thanks for your help Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-22-2013, 01:43 AM (This post was last modified: 01-22-2013 01:45 AM by viveksingh98.)
Post: #6
RE: Problems with Firefox config
Hi Pat,

I'm facing problem with Firefox as well -

here's what i have in my wptdriver.ini:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://viv.smo.local
location=Local-WPTDriver
browser=Chrome
key=TestKey123
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat

[Chrome]
exe="C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%profile%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%profile%" -no-remote'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-23-2013, 02:30 AM
Post: #7
RE: Problems with Firefox config
What does your locations.ini look like?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-23-2013, 05:18 PM (This post was last modified: 01-23-2013 05:24 PM by viveksingh98.)
Post: #8
RE: Problems with Firefox config
This is how my locations.ini looks like -



[locations]
1=Local
;2=Public_Dulles
default=Local


;
; These are the top-level locations that are listed in the location dropdown
; Each one points to one or more browser configurations
;

[Local]
1=Local-URLBlast
2=Local-WPTDriver
label=Local
connectivity=LAN


;[Public_Dulles]
;1=WPT_Dulles_IE8
;label="WebPagetest.org - Dulles, VA"

;
; Tese are the browser-specific configurations that match the configurations
; defined in the top-level locations. Each one of these MUST match the location
; name configured on the test agent (urlblast.ini or wptdriver.ini)
;

[Local-URLBlast]
browser=IE 9
latency=0
label="Local - IE 9"
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
key=TestKey123
connectivity=LAN


;
; For a wptdriver configuration (chrome, firefox), the browser labels here
; MUST match the labels used in wptdriver.ini
;

[Local-WPTDriver]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label="Local"
connectivity=LAN

;
; This is an exaple of a "remote" configuration where tests can be proxied to a remote
; webpagetest instance. The test will be run by the remote server but the results
; will be downloaded to the local server and deleted from the remote agent
;
; Each location that you want to use from the remote server needs to be configured
; individually on the local configuration (location names do not need to match)
;
; To use the public webpagetest.org instance you will need an API key
;

;[WPT_Dulles_IE8]
;browser=IE 8
;label="WebPagetest.org Dulles, VA - IE8"
; relayServer="http://www.webpagetest.org/"
; relayKey=<your API key>
; relayLocation=Dulles_IE8

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2013, 03:29 AM
Post: #9
RE: Problems with Firefox config
Is chrome working but Firefox is not? Does firefox launch but just not go anywhere or does it not even launch? If it launches but doesn't run the test then you just need to update the test agent: http://www.webpagetest.org/forums/showth...?tid=11972
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-24-2013, 09:31 PM
Post: #10
RE: Problems with Firefox config
Yes, chrome and IE are working fine. The problem seem to exist with Firefox only. The firefox browser launches with url - "http://127.0.0.1:8888/blank.html" but doesn't run the test cases.
I've updated the agent folder with the 6 files available in the wptupdate.zip but it doesn't seem to work out in my case.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)