Current time: 12-17-2017, 06:08 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
04-23-2013, 03:56 AM
Post: #1
WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
Hi,

I'm having some problems running tests using the wptdriver with Firefox and Chrome.

When a test is submitted through the UI it continues to queue the test but nothing is executed.
I've checked under the jobs directory and even after clearing it out and running a new test it still queues the test and says that is is behind X other tests.

Running on IE and URLBlast works fine.
Please let me know if there any debug logging I can enable or any additional info that I can provide to help troubleshoot this problem.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-23-2013, 06:19 AM (This post was last modified: 04-23-2013 06:20 AM by andydavies.)
Post: #2
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
To me this sounds like a mismatch between locations.ini on the server and wptdriver.ini on the test agent.

What does path.to.your.wpt.server/getLocations.php show you - are there any Chrome or Firefox agents connecting?

Also check the access.log for Apache (or which ever httpd you're using) to see if there are requests coming in for Chrome and Firefox they'll look something like:

GET /work/getwork.php?location=name of wpt driver location&software=wpt&ver=62&pc=WIN7VM-PC&freedisk=2.062

Andy

Using WebPageTest - http://usingwpt.com/
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-23-2013, 11:55 PM
Post: #3
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
(04-23-2013 06:19 AM)andydavies Wrote:  To me this sounds like a mismatch between locations.ini on the server and wptdriver.ini on the test agent.

What does path.to.your.wpt.server/getLocations.php show you - are there any Chrome or Firefox agents connecting?

Also check the access.log for Apache (or which ever httpd you're using) to see if there are requests coming in for Chrome and Firefox they'll look something like:

GET /work/getwork.php?location=name of wpt driver location&software=wpt&ver=62&pc=WIN7VM-PC&freedisk=2.062

Hi,

Here are the contents of locations.ini and wptdriver.ini:
-----
[locations]
1=Local
default=Local

[Local]
1=Local-URLBlast
2=Local-WPTDriver
label=Local

[Local-URLBlast]
browser=IE 9
latency=0
label="Local - IE 9"
browserExe=pagetest.exe
key=SomeKey123

[Local-WPTDriver]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label="Local - Agents"
key=SomeKey123
-----
[WebPagetest]
url=http://127.0.0.1/
location=Local-WPTDriver
browser=Chrome,Firefox
software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat
debug=0

[Chrome]
exe="C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/chrome.dat
key=SomeKey123

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%profile%" -no-remote'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox
key=SomeKey123
-----

Here is the output of getLocations.php:
-----
Location Idle Testers Total Tests Being Tested High Priority P1 P2 P3 P4 P5 P6 P7 P8 P9
Local-URLBlast 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Local-WPTDriver:Chrome 1 6 0 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Local-WPTDriver:Firefox 1 6 0 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
-----

Here are the request from the acess log and wpt log:

-----
127.0.0.1 - - [22/Apr/2013:16:21:58 -0400] "GET /work/getwork.php?shards=1&location=Local-WPTDriver&software=wpt&ver=99&pc=WPT01&dns=10.x.x.x-10.x.x.x&freedisk=28.139 HTTP/1.1" 200 -
-----
2013-04-22 16:21:58 10.x.x.x 0 0 130422_HV_24 http://www.somesite.com Local - Agents - <b>Firefox</b> - <b>Cable</b> 0 0 21ec006198e0708c062555d9e137c148ce37fd4c
-----

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2013, 01:24 AM
Post: #4
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
Does http://<wpt server>/install/ show everything as being ok (particularly the permissions on the different directories)?

If you enter the same getwork.php URL into a browser, do you get anything back?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-30-2013, 01:51 AM
Post: #5
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
(04-24-2013 01:24 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Does http://<wpt server>/install/ show everything as being ok (particularly the permissions on the different directories)?

If you enter the same getwork.php URL into a browser, do you get anything back?

WPT install indicates a problem with the Local-WPTDriver:
-----
Local : Local

Local-URLBlast : Local - IE 9 - 1 agents connected
Local-WPTDriver : Local - Agents - 18065 minutes since last agent connected
-----

Entering the same getwork.php URL for URLBlast or WPTDriver results in a blank page.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2013, 11:15 PM
Post: #6
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
I've set debug=1 in the wptdriver.ini file but don't notice any extra logging.
Where would I expect these debug messages?

Also checking the WPT log, can you provide a breakdown of what field represents? I am curious about the last 2 integer values before the hashed string token. First request (URLBlast) works... second request queues and doesn't do anything (WPTDriver).

2013-05-01 12:58:55 10.X.X.X 0 0 130501_NE_c591005101cf818def049a724b9bcd8f http://www.somesite.com Local - IE 9 - <b>DSL</b> 1 0 Sched Job 0c74693275314d9cdfe7ed3d6c7bcfa318ebb9eb
2013-05-01 13:05:12 10.X.X.X 0 0 130501_R0_61 http://www.somesite.com Local - Agents - <b>Firefox</b> - <b>Cable</b> 0 0 c2ef4f1a4949bcd795262f57da23662938841c46

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2013, 01:07 AM
Post: #7
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
For some reason your wptdriver location doesn't appear to be polling correctly as far as the server can tell (hence the long time). The location names look correct to me but double-check and make sure they are identical in locations.ini and wptdriver.ini (case matters). Also, make sure your wptdriver.ini only has one browser in the "browser" field.

The config files look good as best as I can tell. If you want to zip them and attach them here I can try it on an agent that I know works to see if I can figure out what is going on.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-22-2013, 05:51 AM
Post: #8
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
(05-03-2013 01:07 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  For some reason your wptdriver location doesn't appear to be polling correctly as far as the server can tell (hence the long time). The location names look correct to me but double-check and make sure they are identical in locations.ini and wptdriver.ini (case matters). Also, make sure your wptdriver.ini only has one browser in the "browser" field.

The config files look good as best as I can tell. If you want to zip them and attach them here I can try it on an agent that I know works to see if I can figure out what is going on.

Thanks Patrick.
For the browser field how do you identify the second browser if you have multiple browsers defined in the wptdriver.ini.

Files attached for reference.

Thanks


Attached File(s)
.txt  locations.txt (Size: 1.8 KB / Downloads: 93)
.txt  wptdriver.txt (Size: 838 bytes / Downloads: 93)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-23-2013, 10:44 PM
Post: #9
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
In locations.ini you just list them in browser= as a comma-separated list. When wptdriver gets a job, it checks to see if the requested browser is something it has defined and if not it uses the default that is defined in it's browser= line.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-24-2013, 02:31 AM
Post: #10
RE: WPT private instance not working for FF or Chrome
(05-23-2013 10:44 PM)pmeenan Wrote:  In locations.ini you just list them in browser= as a comma-separated list. When wptdriver gets a job, it checks to see if the requested browser is something it has defined and if not it uses the default that is defined in it's browser= line.

Ok. I've tried specifying just one browser in wptdriver.ini
ie.
wptdriver.ini:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://127.0.0.1/
location=Local-WPTDriver
browser=Chrome

locations.ini:
[Local-WPTDriver]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label="Local - Agents"

But it stills behaves the same and ends up queuing the request behind X other requests, and never runs.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)