Current time: 12-14-2017, 12:16 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
06-21-2013, 03:38 AM
Post: #1
browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
Searched extensively, but didn't find an answer.

What's the significance of have browser=chrome in the WebPageTest section of wptdriver.ini?

Below is my wptdriver.ini. As can be seen, the machine is hosting 4 browsers, and I want to move away from that. However, I would first like to understand what the chrome browser-specific kvp signifies.

[WebPagetest]
url=http://watchtower.corp.yahoo.com/
location=SP2corp3
browser=Chrome
time limit=120
;key=Volvo850
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat

[Chrome]
exe="C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

[Safari]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Safari\Safari.exe"

[IE9]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-25-2013, 01:47 AM
Post: #2
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
fyi - I've gone ahead and moved each browser to discrete machines, changing the "browser=" line in the wptdriver.ini file to reflect the current browser being hosted on a given machine.

There appear to be no issues, and my assumption at this time is that the "browser=" line is legacy code.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 01:08 AM
Post: #3
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
the browser= is there just to specify a default browser to use if one isn't specified from the server. The only time that happens is if the locations.ini only has one browser listed. If you have multiple browsers that are comma separated then the browser will always be specified and it won't be used.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-28-2013, 02:59 AM
Post: #4
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
Thanks, Patrick.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-13-2014, 11:18 AM
Post: #5
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
(06-28-2013 01:08 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  the browser= is there just to specify a default browser to use if one isn't specified from the server. The only time that happens is if the locations.ini only has one browser listed. If you have multiple browsers that are comma separated then the browser will always be specified and it won't be used.

I have been asked to set up a private instance of WPT on a Windows XP VM. I have installed all the third party tools and the /install page shows everything green except for the agent section at the bottom of that page.

No test agents are configured to render video

xp : xp
xp-Chrome : Chrome - No Agents Connected
xp-Firefox : Firefox - No Agents Connected
laptop : laptop
laptop-Chrome : Chrome - No Agents Connected
laptop-Firefox : Firefox - No Agents Connected
Public_Dulles : WebPagetest.org - Dulles, VA
WPT_Dulles_IE8 : WebPagetest.org Dulles, VA - IE8 - No Agents Connected
Appurify : Appurify Mobile Testing
Appurify_Mobile : Appurify Mobile - No Agents Connected


It appears that it is possible to set up the agents and server on this one VM. I have not been able to get the locations.ini and wptdriver.ini settings correct.

What am I doing incorrectly? And where how does the install page know where to look for the wptdriver.ini file?

My locations.ini is:
[locations]
1=xp
2=laptop
3=Public_Dulles
4=Appurify
default=xp

;
; These are the top-level locations that are listed in the location

dropdown
; Each one points to one or more browser configurations
;

[xp]
1=xp-Chrome
2=xp-Firefox
label=xp

[xp-Chrome]
browser=Chrome
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="Chrome"


[xp-Firefox]
browser=Firefox
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="Firefox"

[laptop]
1=laptop-Chrome
2=laptop-Firefox
label=laptop

[laptop-Chrome]
browser=Chrome
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="Chrome"


[laptop-Firefox]
browser=Firefox
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="Firefox"

[Public_Dulles]
1=WPT_Dulles_IE8
label="WebPagetest.org - Dulles, VA"
group=Public

;
; These are the browser-specific configurations that match the

configurations
; defined in the top-level locations. Each one of these MUST match the

location
; name configured on the test agent (urlblast.ini or wptdriver.ini)
;

[IE]
browser=IE 8
latency=0
label="Test Location - IE 8"
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
key=webpagetest

;
; For a wptdriver configuration (chrome, firefox), the browser labels here
; MUST match the labels used in wptdriver.ini
;

[WebPagetest]
browser=Chrome,Firefox,Safari,IE
label="Chrome"

;
; This is an example of a "remote" configuration where tests can be proxied

to a remote
; webpagetest instance. The test will be run by the remote server but the

results
; will be downloaded to the local server and deleted from the remote agent
;
; Each location that you want to use from the remote server needs to be

configured
; individually on the local configuration (location names do not need to

match)
;
; To use the public webpagetest.org instance you will need an API key
;

[WPT_Dulles_IE8]
browser=IE 8
label="WebPagetest.org Dulles, VA - IE8"
relayServer="http://www.webpagetest.org/"
;relayKey=<your API key>
relayKey=A28A1B510FCD4A32B2FB9FFC01807097
relayLocation=Dulles_IE8

;
; This is a special location for testing on Appurify mobile devices.
; Appurify offers mobile device testing as a service.
;
[Appurify]
1=Appurify_Mobile
label="Appurify Mobile Testing"
lat=35.682175
lng=139.752731
group=Mobile

[Appurify_Mobile]
type=Appurify
label="Appurify Mobile"
key=<API Key>
secret=<API Secret>


My wptdriver.ini file is:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://127.0.0.1/
location=laptop-Chrome
browser=Chrome
Time Limit=120
key=webpagetest
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat

[chrome]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

[Safari]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Safari\Safari.exe"

[IE]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

Many thanks,

Andrew
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2014, 02:21 AM
Post: #6
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
Here you go:

locations.ini:
Code:
[locations]
1=xp_loc
2=laptop_loc
default=xp_loc

[xp_loc]
1=xp
label=xp

[xp]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="xp"

[laptop_loc]
1=laptop
label=laptop

[laptop]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="Laptop"

wptdriver.ini:
Code:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://127.0.0.1/
location=xp
browser=Chrome
Time Limit=120
key=webpagetest
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat

[Chrome]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

[Safari]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Safari\Safari.exe"

[IE]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2014, 08:03 AM
Post: #7
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
Thanks for responding Patrick. I have trying with these settings.

My locations.ini is in C:\Apache2\htdocs\webpagetest\settings
My wptdriver.ini is in C:\wpt-agent\wptdriver

It is still saying "No test agents are configured to render video" and "No Agents connected". I suspect because the installation check script can't find the wptdriver.ini file.

Should wptdriver.ini be located somewhere else? How does the installation script know where to look for wptdriver.ini?

Regards,

Andrew

(02-20-2014 02:21 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Here you go:

locations.ini:
Code:
[locations]
1=xp_loc
2=laptop_loc
default=xp_loc

[xp_loc]
1=xp
label=xp

[xp]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="xp"

[laptop_loc]
1=laptop
label=laptop

[laptop]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
latency=0
key=webpagetest
label="Laptop"

wptdriver.ini:
Code:
[WebPagetest]
url=http://127.0.0.1/
location=xp
browser=Chrome
Time Limit=120
key=webpagetest
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/software.dat

[Chrome]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
installer=http://www.webpagetest.org/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

[Safari]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Safari\Safari.exe"

[IE]
exe="%PROGRAM_FILES%\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2014, 09:17 AM
Post: #8
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
The installation check doesn't care about wptdriver.ini - it bases it's information on logs that it keeps as agents poll the server for work and it means the agent's aren't connecting. Do you have urlblast and wptdriver running? In the access logs for the server do you see requests for /work/getwork.php?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2014, 10:00 AM
Post: #9
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
(02-25-2014 09:17 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  The installation check doesn't care about wptdriver.ini - it bases it's information on logs that it keeps as agents poll the server for work and it means the agent's aren't connecting. Do you have urlblast and wptdriver running? In the access logs for the server do you see requests for /work/getwork.php?

Hi Patrick,

Thanks for getting back to me.

At the moment all I have is some files sitting in C:\wpt-agent on the VM.

What other steps need to happen? Is the documentation on how to set up an agent on a VM next to the website, that I might have missed?

Kind Regards,

Andrew
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-25-2014, 10:07 AM
Post: #10
RE: browser=chrome in wptdriver.ini
Maybe the step of creating a shortcut in the startup folder and rebooting? https://sites.google.com/a/webpagetest.o...i-IE-6-10-
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)