Current time: 11-14-2019, 04:24 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Testing Android for mobile
11-21-2013, 02:37 AM
Post: #1
Testing Android for mobile
Whenever I try to test an android device, the site seems to start the process, but I don’t see any results. I see “Waiting in Test Queue, then Running Test, and then after a couple of minutes I only get a white screen. I’ve been trying to look at results for the following URL: http://www.subzero-wolf.com

Can you please help me with this? Am I doing something wrong? Do I need to change a setting on my PC or Mac? Which, by the way, I’ve tried this on both and get the same results.

-Augie Santiago
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 06:37 AM
Post: #2
RE: Testing Android for mobile
Are you testing from the public Dulles, VA location? That seems to work just fine: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/131122_Q5_11P6/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 06:48 AM
Post: #3
RE: Testing Android for mobile
(11-23-2013 06:37 AM)robzilla Wrote:  Are you testing from the public Dulles, VA location? That seems to work just fine: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/131122_Q5_11P6/

I am. When I go to http://www.webpagetest.org/ and click on the Mobile tab in the box where I input the URL, I input the URL and device that I want to test on, then I'm taken to http://mobitest.akamai.com/m/loading.cgi...ebpagetest where the test is running but I don't get the results. Is there a setting that I should be aware of?

-Augie
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-23-2013, 09:37 AM (This post was last modified: 11-23-2013 09:38 AM by robzilla.)
Post: #4
RE: Testing Android for mobile
Oh, no, I think that's a separate testing mechanism, unrelated to the Dulles, VA test location (or even Webpagetest). On Mobitest, where I'm taken, it hangs on "Running Test" for me, too. Never tried this before, actually, but I guess there's a problem with their site.

You can also run a test on Android here on WPT by selecting the Dulles, VA test location and the "Nexus S Android 2.3" browser.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-24-2013, 04:09 AM
Post: #5
RE: Testing Android for mobile
How do I do that then? Every time I click on the Mobile tab, choose Nexus S Android 2.3 browser in Dulles, VA, then click Start Test, I'm automatically taken to Mobitest. What am I doing wrong?

-Augie
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-24-2013, 08:10 AM (This post was last modified: 11-24-2013 08:11 AM by robzilla.)
Post: #6
RE: Testing Android for mobile
The "Mobile" tab is for a separate test. To run a WPT test on the Dulles, VA location using Android, stay on the "Analytical Review" tab, enter your URL, select Dulles, VA and the Android browser, then click "Start test" on the right.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-24-2013, 03:01 PM
Post: #7
RE: Testing Android for mobile
I apologize in advance. This is not going to be pretty.

Have you tried to get this page to render on an actual Android?
I will venture a guess than on an Android this page will also crash.

Not that I needed to test it, I tried it on an android, and it crashes Android. So the WPT mobile test is working correctly.

There is so many things wrong with this page it is amazing that it renders on a desktop Browser.

Where to start?

3 duplicate linked Scripts

23 scripts, 751,453 Bytes? Why? Most are not cached.

The Base HTML is 175,453 Bytes. Insane.

2 MByte Total. I there were a contest for simple pages that use the most Bytes, this page is a contender.

5 CSS files, over 100,000 bytes. About 10-20X of what should be required.

You scored a 0% on the W3C mobileOK. That's only because they do not assign negative values.

448 CSS errors

58 HTML errors.

167 HTTP Requests, I highly doubt any mobile device can handle 167 requests. Considering it can take a few second per request. It would take about 6 minutes just for the requests.

1703 DOM Element is challenging for a desktop, not going to render on a mobile device.

42 DNS Lookups Cannot imagine why.

55 Connections

30 redirects. More insanity.

Looking at the page it does not appear to be a complicated page. I looks like there is about a half dozen images. I wonder why so many (83) image requests?

spacer.gif? Really? Are you kidding me? I have not used a spacer since 1996.
http://www.subzerowolfportal.com${ImagePath} is supposed to be an image?
http://www.subzero-wolf.com/common/image...se_btn.png a 22x22 checkbox but 50,257 bytes? 22 pixels x 22 pixels = 484 pixels or 103.8 Bytes per pixel.

The least of your problems is WPT mobile does not give you a result.

The bigger question is how does this page get a WPT score of 81%?????
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-25-2013, 05:47 AM (This post was last modified: 11-25-2013 05:57 AM by AugieSantiago.)
Post: #8
RE: Testing Android for mobile
(11-24-2013 08:10 AM)robzilla Wrote:  The "Mobile" tab is for a separate test. To run a WPT test on the Dulles, VA location using Android, stay on the "Analytical Review" tab, enter your URL, select Dulles, VA and the Android browser, then click "Start test" on the right.

Ahh! OK. I see. Thank you so much. I figured that it was user error. ;-)

Just one more thing. I don't see an Android browser option in Dulles, VA.

-Augie

(11-24-2013 03:01 PM)iSpeedLink.com Wrote:  I apologize in advance. This is not going to be pretty.

Have you tried to get this page to render on an actual Android?
I will venture a guess than on an Android this page will also crash.

Not that I needed to test it, I tried it on an android, and it crashes Android. So the WPT mobile test is working correctly ...

Thank you for your review. I will pass the issues you experienced along to our dev team. I went to the site and didn't have any problems loading it on my iPhone. I'll have to test this out, on an android, in the office tomorrow to see if I can recreate the issues you had.

-Augie
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-25-2013, 09:04 AM (This post was last modified: 11-25-2013 09:07 AM by robzilla.)
Post: #9
RE: Testing Android for mobile
Quote:Just one more thing. I don't see an Android browser option in Dulles, VA.

That's unlucky, it was on the list earlier. Perhaps it was taken down for maintenance. Try again tomorrow?

I tried loading the site on my Android phone, too. I'm taken to the "Sub-Zero and Wolf International" page, which is fine, but when I click "Visit the official Sub-Zero and Wolf website for North America" I'm once again taken to the same international page (where I can click the link again, and so forth). So there's no way for me to test the actual site on my phone. Something to pass on as well ;-)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-26-2013, 03:07 AM (This post was last modified: 11-26-2013 03:11 AM by AugieSantiago.)
Post: #10
RE: Testing Android for mobile
(11-24-2013 03:01 PM)iSpeedLink.com Wrote:  I apologize in advance. This is not going to be pretty.

Have you tried to get this page to render on an actual Android?
I will venture a guess than on an Android this page will also crash....

I went to subzero-wolf.com on our Samsung Galaxy Nexus & the site works fine here. I've attached an image of the landing page that you should be seeing. Is this what you saw when you visited the site?

I'm wondering if you got redirected by mistake.

-Augie

(11-25-2013 09:04 AM)robzilla Wrote:  
Quote:Just one more thing. I don't see an Android browser option in Dulles, VA.

That's unlucky, it was on the list earlier. Perhaps it was taken down for maintenance. Try again tomorrow?

I tried loading the site on my Android phone, too. I'm taken to the "Sub-Zero and Wolf International" page, which is fine, but when I click "Visit the official Sub-Zero and Wolf website for North America" I'm once again taken to the same international page (where I can click the link again, and so forth). So there's no way for me to test the actual site on my phone. Something to pass on as well ;-)

Still no option for testing Android anywhere on the site.

-Augie


Attached File(s) Image(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)