Current time: 12-12-2017, 12:55 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How to reduce first byte time
02-05-2014, 09:59 PM
Post: #1
How to reduce first byte time
Hi all,
I have developed a joomla 3.2 site. I have tested it with webpagetest.org and i got following results
First Byte Time-F
Keep-alive Enabled-A
Compress Transfer-A
Compress Images-A
Progressive JPEGs-F
Cache static content-A
Effective use of CDN-yes

link for the result-http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140205_RX_DE5/1/details/
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/140205_RX_DE5/

I have enabled cdn on my site.Now, I want to reduce my site's first byte time as i'm getting F in First byte time. how can i improve my site's performance??
And, how can i convert images to progressive images as i got F in progressive JPEGs??
Here's link to my site-http://www.guru99.com
Please help me to improve site performance.

Regards
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2014, 12:01 AM
Post: #2
RE: How to reduce first byte time
You can enable Joomla's page caching but generally it's usually "get better hosting". Are you running on a shared host, VPS or dedicated server? The first byte times for most CMS's (including Joomla) are usually driven almost entirely by database performance and it is usually pretty bad on shared hosting. Adding caching can hide the problem but really fixing it usually means a faster database.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2014, 03:23 PM
Post: #3
RE: How to reduce first byte time
(02-07-2014 12:01 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  You can enable Joomla's page caching but generally it's usually "get better hosting". Are you running on a shared host, VPS or dedicated server? The first byte times for most CMS's (including Joomla) are usually driven almost entirely by database performance and it is usually pretty bad on shared hosting. Adding caching can hide the problem but really fixing it usually means a faster database.

Hi pmeenan,

We are on a dedicated server. The server is 5x more powerful than our requirement. Is there any particular server setting we need to tweak ?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-07-2014, 09:40 PM (This post was last modified: 02-07-2014 09:44 PM by robzilla.)
Post: #4
RE: How to reduce first byte time
Make sure you have a PHP opcode cache like APC installed.

To find your bottleneck, what you could try is putting some load on the server with software like LoadUI, ApacheBench, or simply by running a link checker like Xenu (if you have enough pages), and then monitor your server resources (with top) to see what's slowing things down. Is the CPU fully engaged, and/or is it waiting for the disk (%wa)? Are you running out of memory?

Quote:The server is 5x more powerful than our requirement.

What are the specifications? Most dedicated servers have regular HDDs, and poor disk i/o is often the bottleneck.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2014, 02:15 AM
Post: #5
RE: How to reduce first byte time
I have the same type of issue, however I'm using GoDaddy shared hosting (no boos or groans, please). It is a client site.

When I was working with my CDN company (MaxCDN), they said the same thing -- first byte is almost always driven by the hosting company.

Their suggestion was to implement CloudFlare in addition to the CDN, as CloudFlare is actually a 'first hit cache/CDN' of your site (before people actually hit your server), so instead of getting served by your server, they are getting served by CloudFlare first. They have a free service and it seems to have helped my sites (by about 30% speed increase).

Jeff
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-10-2014, 05:57 PM (This post was last modified: 02-10-2014 05:58 PM by lupinehorror.)
Post: #6
RE: How to reduce first byte time
(02-08-2014 02:15 AM)jainlv Wrote:  I have the same type of issue, however I'm using GoDaddy shared hosting (no boos or groans, please). It is a client site.

When I was working with my CDN company (MaxCDN), they said the same thing -- first byte is almost always driven by the hosting company.

Their suggestion was to implement CloudFlare in addition to the CDN, as CloudFlare is actually a 'first hit cache/CDN' of your site (before people actually hit your server), so instead of getting served by your server, they are getting served by CloudFlare first. They have a free service and it seems to have helped my sites (by about 30% speed increase).

Jeff

agreed. i use cloudflare for quite a few sites and have found it does help with load times (and first byte times). this on a decent spec VPS. also use w3 total cache with max cdn and find they work very well together. for example
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-15-2014, 06:46 PM
Post: #7
RE: How to reduce first byte time
We have a magento site, we started using full page cache and then we got our load time from over 1000ms to under 400ms! Its probably the key on any site.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-18-2014, 12:34 PM
Post: #8
RE: How to reduce first byte time
(02-15-2014 06:46 PM)websiteworld Wrote:  We have a magento site, we started using full page cache and then we got our load time from over 1000ms to under 400ms! Its probably the key on any site.

Are you running Enterprise? What is your experience with the other optimization features and Magento? For instance, we found things like Rocket Loader and Auto Minify on CloudFlare caused errors in our page loads.

We're running Community, and until we anty to the $15k /yr Enterprise, we do not have access to full page caching.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-19-2014, 02:23 AM
Post: #9
RE: How to reduce first byte time
Hanger We are running community as well we purchased an extension that works great.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-20-2014, 01:56 AM
Post: #10
RE: How to reduce first byte time
Before throwing that much at Enterprise just for faster pages I'd throw more money at hosting first. A VPS running on SSD's with enough RAM and CPU should perform a lot better natively (page caching largely hides issues and only on commonly accessed pages).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)