Current time: 12-14-2017, 08:04 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
"C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
01-14-2015, 12:42 AM
Post: #1
Question "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
Please check out my website at http://www.leicaplace.com

My dedicated server specs:
Intel Xeon E5-2640 v2 (8 cores)
32GB RAM (1866 MHz)
240GB SolidFire (Cloud) SSD
Litespeed webserver (4 cores)
Varnish cache (Unixy plugin)

Site software: vBulletin 4.2.x with Xcache

I have set .htaccess as advised here to cache static assets: http://ozzmodz.com/showthread.php/1363-Q...tic-assets

I can't seem to do much better than a "C" for TTGB and an "F" for cache static content. What am I missing?

[Image: 15651920573_36b0355106.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2015, 05:50 AM
Post: #2
RE: "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
FYI, the test result urls are permanent so you can paste those instead of screenshots: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/150113...ic_content

It looks like most of the issues are with skimresources.com and not directly from your server (and some with ads).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2015, 05:54 AM
Post: #3
RE: "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
Thanks, I see what you mean, now. So I have to choose between speed and money Smile. That explains my "F" grade for cache static content.

How about my "C" TTFB - anything I can do about that?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2015, 05:59 AM
Post: #4
RE: "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
It looks like your site is running through a varnish accelerator of some kind - is it acting as a CDN as well? That is a common case for making the TTFB appear slower than WebPagetest thinks it should be because it is connecting very quickly to the CDN edge node but that then needs to connect back to the actual server and that all shows up in the TTFB time.

260ms for the actual request time is not too shabby and I wouldn't worry about it.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-14-2015, 08:21 AM
Post: #5
RE: "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
(01-14-2015 05:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  It looks like your site is running through a varnish accelerator of some kind - is it acting as a CDN as well? That is a common case for making the TTFB appear slower than WebPagetest thinks it should be because it is connecting very quickly to the CDN edge node but that then needs to connect back to the actual server and that all shows up in the TTFB time.

260ms for the actual request time is not too shabby and I wouldn't worry about it.

Thanks, I took off all the ads, and my grades are much better now: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/150113_3H_17Y6/

I don't know if Varnish is acting as a CDN - I don't think so...
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2015, 12:57 AM
Post: #6
RE: "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
Yikes - don't remove the ads just for the grades. You can see how the visual performance matches up with and without the ads to see what the real impact is but getting all A's doesn't really buy you anything in and of itself.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-16-2015, 01:22 AM
Post: #7
RE: "C" TTFB and "F" cache static content
I know I need the ads, lol, but it's interesting to see how the ads affect the grades!

Thanks again for your help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)