Current time: 12-15-2017, 10:17 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Understanding my results: slow load times
01-03-2016, 08:17 AM
Understanding my results: slow load times
Hello,

I've been doing web development for a summer camp now for 6 months, and I have had a lot of trouble understanding why our site loads so slowly.

Even simple pages without much content are taking 10+ seconds to load! Parents and frequent users of the site have complained, our bounce rate is 50% which I think is far too high and is related to this issue. I want to resolve this issue once and for all.

Here are some results:

Landing Page: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/160102_9C_S35/

FAQ Section: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/160102...1/details/

My boss still has the person who initially created the site under contract, and I've reached out to him about the issue. He says from his end, there is nothing else he can do to make it load quicker. I can't imagine this to be the case when other sites with sometimes far more content are loading much faster!

Some comments: I have compressed all files to levels I believe are sufficient (all pictures are below 100KB where possible). We do not have many WordPress plugins installed or active, and those that are do not have reported issues causing sites to slow down this much.

Appreciate any feedback - thank you.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-04-2016, 10:13 AM
RE: Understanding my results: slow load times
Hi,
if you look in the "Performace review" of the test it is showing:
Compress Images: 100/100
58.7 KB total in images, target size = 58.7 KB - potential savings = 0.0 KB

I think this is "miss-leading" because you are using png-files for the slider.
(In using png this test cant show you the better results)
And this is a problem - because here you can do the most - very easy!
The slider-images on the index-page are not optimized.