Current time: 12-18-2017, 05:40 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Work request response was empty ??
09-07-2010, 02:19 AM
Post: #1
Work request response was empty ??
Well I'm sure its something im doing in a config setup but im getting the following issue

My Log-

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Requesting work from xxx.mydomain.com/work/getwork.php?video=1&location=test&key=**** (<---When I go to the url in a browser i get a blank page is that normal?)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Job of type 'text/plain' received
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Work request response was empty

Here is my setup and config files
Web server is hosted on a linux box by hostmonster (there are no errors in the logs too)
Test server is at my house winxp sp2


My urlblast.ini-

[Configuration]
debug = 1
Test Type=4
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\Web Site\log\log
Thread Count=1
Timeout=60
Reboot Interval=720
Clear Cache Interval=30
browser=pagetest.exe
account=user
password=****
; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://www.mydomain.com/work/
Location=test
Location Key=****

My locations.ini

[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test
default=Test
label=Mikes Test Location

[Test]
browser=IE 8
latency=0
label="Mikes Test Location"
localDir=/home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test
key=****

My full log-

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 0 0 URLBlast Started
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 4 0 CPU String Intel® Celeron® CPU 2.80GHz
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 5 2793 CPU MHz
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 6 1277 Total RAM (MB)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 7 38138 Disk Size (MB)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 8 27727 Disk Free (MB)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 9 5 OS Version Windows XP Service Pack 2 (5.1.2600 SP 2.0 Suite 0x00000100 Product 1)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 10 0 Computer Name HOME-PC
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 11 8 IE Version 8.0.6001.18702
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 12 222 URLBlast Version 2.0.0.222
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Logging on user:user1, password:****

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Logon ok, loading user profile

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Profile loaded, locating profile directory

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug DoUserLogon successful for user1

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Waiting for startup synchronization
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Running...
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Requesting work from http://www.mydomain.com/work/getwork.php...t&key=****
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Job of type 'text/plain' received
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Work request response was empty
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 02:38 AM
Post: #2
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Blank responses are normal if you haven't submitted any tests. Did you navigate to http://www.mydomain.com/ and submitted a test?

Are there any files in /home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test ?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 06:39 AM
Post: #3
RE: Work request response was empty ??
(09-07-2010 02:38 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Blank responses are normal if you haven't submitted any tests. Did you navigate to http://www.mydomain.com/ and submitted a test?

Are there any files in /home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test ?

Sorry I forgot to add that I have tests waiting for processing. (there are files in /home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 06:56 AM
Post: #4
RE: Work request response was empty ??
If I was a betting man I'd say it was because you used different cases on the client and server (test in urlblast.ini and Test in locations.ini). If the sample is screwed up let me know and I'll get it fixed.

Otherwise the only other thing that jumps to mind would be to make sure the keys match (and maybe remove the key in locations.ini for testing).

If it's neither of those then we'll probably have to add some logging to getwork.php to see what's making it unhappy.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 08:58 AM
Post: #5
RE: Work request response was empty ??
(09-07-2010 06:56 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  If I was a betting man I'd say it was because you used different cases on the client and server (test in urlblast.ini and Test in locations.ini). If the sample is screwed up let me know and I'll get it fixed.

Otherwise the only other thing that jumps to mind would be to make sure the keys match (and maybe remove the key in locations.ini for testing).

If it's neither of those then we'll probably have to add some logging to getwork.php to see what's making it unhappy.

Thanks a million Smile that was it Big Grin
Well that seemed to fix my issue Big Grin I changed the "t" to lowercase in "test".

Also do you have a copy of the *.ini files with comments so I can play around with the setting more?

Before -
[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test
default=Test
label=Mikes Test Location

[Test]
browser=IE 8
latency=0
label="Mikes Test Location"
localDir=/home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test
key=****

After -

[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=test
default=test
label=Mikes Test Location

[test]
browser=IE 8
latency=0[/color]
localDir=/home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test
key=****
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 09:31 AM
Post: #6
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Hmm, what kind of settings are you looking for? Support for multiple locations or something more complicated?

The main reason I ask is that urlblast.ini has some pretty crazy options because it was originally built to do bulk url testing on farms of test machines and the WebPagetest support was bolted on (as was support for crawling a site).

The web side of things is a bit simpler:

Locations.ini largely just supports what you see, just with the ability to have a bunch of locations. I can upload the version from the public site if that would help (or you can grab it from svn here: http://code.webpagetest.org/svn/webpagetest/settings ). The one thing that is coming soon is the ability to specify a Lat/Lng for each location and have it show up on a map for selecting a test location.

settings.ini is pretty basic. The only useful thing not documented (off the top of my head anyway) is support for Google analytics. You can put an analytics account in the ini file and you'll start getting analytics for the site. You can look at the production version in svn as well.

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 02:09 PM
Post: #7
RE: Work request response was empty ??
(09-07-2010 09:31 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Hmm, what kind of settings are you looking for? Support for multiple locations or something more complicated?

The main reason I ask is that urlblast.ini has some pretty crazy options because it was originally built to do bulk url testing on farms of test machines and the WebPagetest support was bolted on (as was support for crawling a site).

The web side of things is a bit simpler:

Locations.ini largely just supports what you see, just with the ability to have a bunch of locations. I can upload the version from the public site if that would help (or you can grab it from svn here: http://code.webpagetest.org/svn/webpagetest/settings ). The one thing that is coming soon is the ability to specify a Lat/Lng for each location and have it show up on a map for selecting a test location.

settings.ini is pretty basic. The only useful thing not documented (off the top of my head anyway) is support for Google analytics. You can put an analytics account in the ini file and you'll start getting analytics for the site. You can look at the production version in svn as well.

Thanks,

-Pat

Thanks Pat for the link to the svn Smile
(You got me curious now> ) About the urlblast.ini crazy options. Any link for that? I would love to create multiple locations, and maybe generate traffic for load testing Big Grin.I looked at the file in the svn looks like it can do a lot of things Big Grin. There couldn't be more, could there?

Is there a way to run tests automated every 10 mins with the hosted version and send alerts based on thresholds. If not; I'm sure there is a way to script this feature. If I add features to this project is there a way to submit it for others?

Man!! endless ideas in my head > I'm so excited !!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-07-2010, 08:33 PM
Post: #8
RE: Work request response was empty ??
(09-07-2010 02:09 PM)mikemontrel Wrote:  Thanks Pat for the link to the svn Smile
(You got me curious now> ) About the urlblast.ini crazy options. Any link for that? I would love to create multiple locations, and maybe generate traffic for load testing Big Grin.I looked at the file in the svn looks like it can do a lot of things Big Grin. There couldn't be more, could there?

Is there a way to run tests automated every 10 mins with the hosted version and send alerts based on thresholds. If not; I'm sure there is a way to script this feature. If I add features to this project is there a way to submit it for others?

Man!! endless ideas in my head > I'm so excited !!

There is an xml API for interfacing with the web interface that you can use for automation: http://www.webperformancecentral.com/wik...g_Pagetest

Please don't automate the public instance for monitoring though. Anything more than once or twice a day will get your IP blocked (to protect the system capacity). You can automate a private instance all you'd like though. One of the users has built a monitoring system on top of the XML API that he's talked about open sourcing as well so look for that in the not too distant future.

For the urlblast options there is a commented version of the file here: http://code.webpagetest.org/svn/pagetest...lBlast.ini but a lot of the options probably won't make sense and there isn't really any documentation for them (well, outside of the code).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-18-2011, 10:11 PM
Post: #9
RE: Work request response was empty ??
(09-07-2010 02:19 AM)mikemontrel Wrote:  Well I'm sure its something im doing in a config setup but im getting the following issue

My Log-

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Requesting work from xxx.mydomain.com/work/getwork.php?video=1&location=test&key=**** (<---When I go to the url in a browser i get a blank page is that normal?)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Job of type 'text/plain' received
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Work request response was empty

Here is my setup and config files
Web server is hosted on a linux box by hostmonster (there are no errors in the logs too)
Test server is at my house winxp sp2


My urlblast.ini-

[Configuration]
debug = 1
Test Type=4
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\Web Site\log\log
Thread Count=1
Timeout=60
Reboot Interval=720
Clear Cache Interval=30
browser=pagetest.exe
account=user
password=****
; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://www.mydomain.com/work/
Location=test
Location Key=****

My locations.ini

[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test
default=Test
label=Mikes Test Location

[Test]
browser=IE 8
latency=0
label="Mikes Test Location"
localDir=/home5/mydomain/www/mysubdomain/work/test
key=****

My full log-

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 0 0 URLBlast Started
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 4 0 CPU String Intel® Celeron® CPU 2.80GHz
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 5 2793 CPU MHz
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 6 1277 Total RAM (MB)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 7 38138 Disk Size (MB)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 8 27727 Disk Free (MB)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 9 5 OS Version Windows XP Service Pack 2 (5.1.2600 SP 2.0 Suite 0x00000100 Product 1)
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 10 0 Computer Name HOME-PC
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 11 8 IE Version 8.0.6001.18702
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 12 222 URLBlast Version 2.0.0.222
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Logging on user:user1, password:****

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Logon ok, loading user profile

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Profile loaded, locating profile directory

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug DoUserLogon successful for user1

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Waiting for startup synchronization
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Running...
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Requesting work from http://www.mydomain.com/work/getwork.php...t&key=****
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Job of type 'text/plain' received
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Work request response was empty

Hi,

Even I'm getting the same error

2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Job of type 'text/plain' received
2010/09/06 11:58:09 -1 0 1 20 0 Debug Work request response was empty

but i have noticed that even though i'm running apache on port 3128 and my urlBlast.ini shows Url Files Url=http://192.168.17.249:3128/work/ , still the log says :

Requesting work from 192.168.17.249/work/getwork.php?video=1&location=Test Location&key=167168&pc=XYZ
Debug Job of type 'text/plain' received
Debug Work request response was empty

:3128 (httpd port number) is missing here.

My config says this.

[Configuration]
Startup Delay=30
Log File=C:\urlblast\Logs\urlBlast_%MACHINE%
Timeout=120

; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://192.168.17.249:3128/work/
Location=Test Location
Location Key=167168
account=user
password=2dialit
debug=1

and locations has

[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test
default=Test
label=Test Location

[Test]
browser=IE 8
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
latency=0
label="Test Location"
key=167168
reboot_interval=720000000
localDir=C:/Inetpub/Apache/work/jobs/Test

Please help.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-19-2011, 02:19 AM
Post: #10
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Empty responses is normal, that's what is returned if there is no work pending for the specified location. It can be a problem if there is actually work waiting but that will likely be a mismatched key or location value.

Don't be thrown off by the port not being in the log file, it's just a reporting issue.

In your case the problem is the location in urlblast.ini. It should be Test, not Test Location (the value in the brackets for a given location, not the label). You also don't need to specify the account and password, looks like you're just using the defaults.

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)