Current time: 12-15-2017, 08:12 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Work request response was empty ??
04-19-2011, 04:40 PM
Post: #11
RE: Work request response was empty ??
thanks for the reply Pat,
Wireshark later told me that missing port is just the reporting issue.
I changed the location in urlblast.ini to Test but still the same problem.
Now its like this.

[Configuration]
Startup Delay=30
Log File=C:\urlblast\Logs\urlBlast_%MACHINE%
Timeout=120

; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://192.168.17.249/work/
Location=Test
Location Key=167168
account=user
password=2dialit
debug=1

Location.ini remains the same still it's giving the following
Requesting work from 192.168.17.249/work/getwork.php?video=1&location=Test&key=167168&pc=PCNAME
Debug Job of type 'text/plain' received
Debug Work request response was empty


I can even see jobs under work\jobs\Test folder and if i cancel , this file vanishes.
Yes i'm using default's , was using this App for the first time.

Please suggest
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-20-2011, 12:22 AM
Post: #12
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Did you change the web server to run on port 80 as well (just wondering because it looked like the port is no longer in the config)? Are the requests showing up in the access log on the server?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2011, 12:36 AM
Post: #13
RE: Work request response was empty ??
(04-20-2011 12:22 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Did you change the web server to run on port 80 as well (just wondering because it looked like the port is no longer in the config)? Are the requests showing up in the access log on the server?

Sorry for the late reply.
I did the setup on a different machine this time and every thing worked fine.
Can we schedule multiple URL's for testing at later timings without any intervention from our end?

Yes this time the web part was on default port.

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-27-2011, 12:45 AM
Post: #14
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Sorry, not sure what you mean by "schedule multiple URL's for testing at later timings".

WebPagetest itself doesn't have any scheduling capabilities. Tests are run as soon as possible in the order received. WPTMonitor has scheduling capabilities and sits on top of WebPagetest if you want to do things like test a page several times a day.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2011, 11:18 PM
Post: #15
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Hi Pat,

I just noticed one more thing.
on providing the following in location.ini
[Test]
browser=IE 8
browserExe=pagetest.exe
latency=0
label="Test Location"
key=TestKey123
reboot_interval=720000000
pagetest.exe launches and the result in perfectly fine.

but when i provide this

[Test]
browser=IE 8
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
latency=0
label="Test Location"
key=TestKey123
reboot_interval=720000000

It opens IE 8 and browse urls properly but the result is empty , no waterfall.
is it ready with chrome ? my chrome crashes and test fails.

What i'm doing wrong?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2011, 06:33 AM
Post: #16
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Chrome has a completely different set of client binaries, you can't just change the browser for urlblast. It's almost ready to go (still missing a few features but solid).

For the IE issues, do you have any other plugins or antivirus installed? That's usually the cause of differences between using pagetest.exe and IE natively. You can also try the latest binary which is available here: http://www.webpagetest.org/work/update/update.zip

Finally, as a side note, the reboot interval isn't set on the server, you can remove those entries. On the client side if you want it to not reboot you can just set it to 0 (or leave it out with the latest binaries because the default is to not reboot).

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2011, 03:27 PM
Post: #17
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Hi Pat,

I have tried using the update provided above , also disabled the Symantec SEP antivirus but no luck.
GD looks ok as with pagetest.exe the graphs are comming properly.

IE opens up and browse the sites well , but no result in graph and otherwise.

Please help. Also from where can i get the client code for chrome?

Thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2011, 11:16 PM
Post: #18
RE: Work request response was empty ??
Did you uninstall the AV or just disable it? Something is interfering with the API hooking in the IE process which is preventing me from being able to record the data.

The Chrome code is still under VERY active development but I'll see about grabbing a stable snapshot later this week and packaging up a new release. I need to start deploying to to the other test locations anyway (and if I wait for it to be "done" it would be a few more months).

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)