Current time: 12-17-2017, 09:59 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Default Window size for IE
09-23-2009, 05:45 PM
Post: #1
Default Window size for IE
Hi,

I am running pagetest internally and I just noticed that there is a snapshot taken when the dom element is hit.

I would like to see more of the page and have adjusted my desktop size, however urlblast always open's IE at 1024x768.

I discovered registry settings under ieWatch reg key, but urlblast appears to ignore.

Is there somewhere else I can set the default resolution for hosted pagetest?

Thanks
Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2009, 08:31 PM
Post: #2
RE: Default Window size for IE
Not yet but I just created a ticket to let it be customized (probably be an urlblast.ini setting) : http://dev.webpagetest.org/webpagetest/ticket/31

Hopefully I'll have time to do it in the next day or so as it should be really easy to implement.

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2009, 08:48 PM
Post: #3
RE: Default Window size for IE
Great stuff!

Visual validation of the dom element getting hit (and what else is visable) is very useful.

Ideally I want to have the capture height of the browser go off the screen. Sounds like a virtual desktop to me (in the *nix world), will have to see if I can get windows to do it.

Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-23-2009, 10:36 PM
Post: #4
RE: Default Window size for IE
Yeah, the browser window should be able to extend well past the desktop in either dimension and still capture correctly (video will clip at the desktop though as it records what is actually on screen). It may also be possible to capture the full document regardless of browser height but that will take some more looking into.

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-30-2009, 06:30 PM
Post: #5
RE: Default Window size for IE
Hi Pat,

Just wondering if you have had a chance to look at this yet?

Kind regards
Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-30-2009, 10:40 PM
Post: #6
RE: Default Window size for IE
Sort of. As long as your desktop is at least the size of the browser window you are trying to capture then the attached urlblast should work. Just add:

Browser Width=1600
Browser Height=1200

(or whatever dimensions you want) to urlblast.ini

I'm having a few problems getting it to go larger than the desktop that are going to require changes to pagetest itself but I'm also in the middle of some open-heard surgery on pagetest so it's not in a good state to make those changes so it will be a little while before I can have it go beyond the desktop.

Thanks,

-Pat

Experimental build 217:
.zip  urlBlast_217exp.zip (Size: 197.43 KB / Downloads: 334)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-01-2009, 04:52 PM
Post: #7
RE: Default Window size for IE
Hi Pat,

I tried the experimental urlblast. I can get the browser to open at custom sizes, but the screen grabs are no longer working.

I will wait for you to get a proper version out

Cheers
Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-25-2009, 06:18 AM
Post: #8
RE: Default Window size for IE
I just released an updated suite which includes the support for the custom browser dimensions: http://www.webpagetest.org/forums/showthread.php?tid=66

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-26-2009, 09:15 AM
Post: #9
RE: Default Window size for IE
Hi Pat,

Great news. I will have a play and let you know how I go

Cheers
Steve
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-25-2009, 06:43 AM
Post: #10
RE: Default Window size for IE
normally the default size is 800 x 600. because default page is in any browser is 800 x 600.

[url=http://www.zoombits.fr/cable/]cable [/url]
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)