Current time: 12-15-2017, 12:52 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Traceroute from test agents
02-10-2011, 04:40 AM
Post: #1
Traceroute from test agents
You can now run traceroutes from the test agents through the web UI. It's still pretty experimental but you can get to it here: http://www.webpagetest.org/traceroute

Here is a sample traceroute to o.aolcdn.com from the Dulles test agent: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/110209_5R_3TJV/

When there's no response you'll get a blank entry (may update this to display a * so it looks more like the command-line). The traceroutes are done with ICMP for now (eventually I'd like to implement it as a TCP port-80 traceroute but that's a lot harder to do on Windows than it should be).

As always, feedback (particularly suggestions/bugs) appreciated.

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-20-2012, 11:01 PM
Post: #2
RE: Traceroute from test agents
I installed a private instance as a proof of concept exercise (I'm hoping to host a public instance for you early next year from a Data Centre in Manchester, UK).

After installation, I checked to see if I could run a traceroute test from my site in t e same way that I can from the public site in Dulles.

http://<MYSERVER>/traceroute returns an error and I don't seem to have a www/traceroute folder in my installation. Do I need to get the source for this somewhere else?

Sorry for the newbie question.
P.S. Fantastic site and great product ! :-)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2012, 07:38 AM
Post: #3
RE: Traceroute from test agents
My guess is that it is related to rewrite and the code isn't creating the non-rewrite version of the traceroute url correctly. If you navigate to /traceroute.php (I think that's it) you should see the UI.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2012, 08:00 AM
Post: #4
RE: Traceroute from test agents
Thanks Patrick, your advice was spot on. I'll fix a rewrite rule so http://127.0.0.1/traceroute goes to http://127.0.0.1/traceroute.php >
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
12-22-2012, 08:11 AM
Post: #5
RE: Traceroute from test agents
The rewrite rule should already be in place - http://code.google.com/p/webpagetest/sou...taccess#12

What are you using for a web server? If it's apache then you just need to install mod_rewrite. If it's nginx then you can include the nginx.conf

Usually the code detects when rewrite isn't available and uses the native .php urls but I probably missed it in this instance.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)