MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occured. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
WebPagetest Forums - Waiting at the front of the queue...

WebPagetest Forums

Full Version: Waiting at the front of the queue...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi All,

I've set up webpagetest 2.5 on my Linux server pretty much out of the box. All of the required PHP and Apache modules are installed( according to php.info() ). I'm using the prepackaged AMI's listed on the webpagtest.org website.

After launching the AIM instance, I eventually see the GET /work/getwork.php call as well a POST to /runtest.php once I enter a url in the testing page on my linux server, and then subsequent calls to GET /result/120213_5J_14/ , which I assume is my job, which is now constantly waiting for results and never getting them. There are no errors in wpt-error log.

*Any* help would be appreciated.

Cheers.
I'll need a few things to help diagnose it:

1 - what does your locations.ini look like on the server (feel free to obfuscate any keys)?

2 - what do the getwork.php requests look like in the access log (also obfuscate the keys)?

3 - Do the location names and keys match between the ini and the requests?
(02-14-2012 11:16 PM)pmeenan Wrote: [ -> ]I'll need a few things to help diagnose it:

1 - what does your locations.ini look like on the server (feel free to obfuscate any keys)?

2 - what do the getwork.php requests look like in the access log (also obfuscate the keys)?

3 - Do the location names and keys match between the ini and the requests?

My locations.ini is:
PHP Code:
[locations]
1=Test_loc
2
=Public_Dulles
default=Test_loc

;
These are the top-level locations that are listed in the location dropdown
Each one points to one or more browser configurations
;

[
Test_loc]
1=IE
2
=Test
label
=Test Location

[Public_Dulles]
1=WPT_Dulles_IE8
label
="WebPagetest.org - Dulles, VA"

;
Tese are the browser-specific configurations that match the configurations
defined in the top-level locations.  Each one of these MUST match the location
name configured on the test agent (urlblast.ini or wptdriver.ini)
;

[
IE]
browser=IE 8
latency
=0
label
="Test Location - IE 8"
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
;key=TestKey123

;
; For 
a wptdriver configuration (chromefirefox), the browser labels here 
MUST match the labels used in wptdriver.ini
;

[
Test]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label
="Test Location"

;
This is an exaple of a "remote" configuration where tests can be proxied to a remote
webpagetest instance.  The test will be run by the remote server but the results
will be downloaded to the local server and deleted from the remote agent
;
Each location that you want to use from the remote server needs to be configured
individually on the local configuration (location names do not need to match)
;
To use the public webpagetest.org instance you will need an API key
[WPT_Dulles_IE8]
browser=IE 8
label
="WebPagetest.org Dulles, VA - IE8"
relayServer="http://www.webpagetest.org/"
relayKey=<your API key>
relayLocation=Dulles_IE8 

Here's my request sequence
PHP Code:
23.20.76.95 - - [14/Feb/2012:09:24:56 -0500"GET /work/getwork.php?video=1&location=Test_loc&key=&ec2=i-4d4a0928&pc=PAGEST-IE8&ver=304 HTTP/1.1" 200 378 "-" "urlblast"
173.14.62.46 - - [14/Feb/2012:09:25:02 -0500"POST /runtest.php HTTP/1.1" 302 466  "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_8) AppleWebKit/535.19 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/18.0.1025.11 Safari/535.19"
173.14.62.46 - - [14/Feb/2012:09:25:02 -0500"GET /result/120214_XB_6/ HTTP/1.1" 200 2224  "Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_6_8) AppleWebKit/535.19 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/18.0.1025.11 Safari/535.19" 

The locations look to me to match, unless I'm misreading. I'm not using any keys atm, just trying to get it up and running. I don't have to use a key, correct?

When I fire up the ami via the EC2 command line tools, I'm passing this, including the quotes, into the AMI data string "wpt_server=webmonitor.chickenkiller.com wpt_location=Test_loc"

Thanks for the help!
Location should be IE instead of Test_loc. It's kind of a tree arrangement and the middle tier (Test_loc) is just a logical grouping for the UI.
Ah, thanks. I knew it was something simple.
I've fired up the IE9/Chrome/Firefox instance (US-East) and now my locations.ini looks like this:

PHP Code:
[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test
2
=Test_wptdriver
label
=Test Location

[Test]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label
="Test Location"

[Test_wptdriver]
browser=IE 9
label
="IE 9" 

and I'm passing Test in as my wpt_location to the ami.

IE 9 has the same problem as before, waiting at the front of the queue, probably because the GET call to getwork.php looks like
Code:
50.19.5.104 - - [14/Feb/2012:12:46:02 -0500] "GET /work/getwork.php?location=Test_wptdriver&software=wpt&ver=21&pc=IP-0A02B528&ec2=i-9b4c0efe HTTP/1.1" 200 378 "-" "WebPagetest Driver"
and it's calling the Test_wptdriver location , rather than both Test and Test_wptdriver. Can one AMI use all 3 browsers or is my setup simply wrong? Chrome and Firefox claim they're testing, but return "The test completed but there were no successful results." after a few minutes.

All of the IE9/Chrome/Firefox ami's don't exist except for us-east, btw.

Thanks!
You should have 2 sets of get requests from the IE9/Chrome/Firefox agent. IE9 will request the location as specified in the user data and the Chrome/Firefox agent will append _wptdriver to the location name.

I just created the AMI's this past weekend and they are mostly meant for the upcoming 2.6 release but IE should work fine. If you search "All Images" and search by AMI ID you should find them - I just tried out the image in Ireland from another account and it came up in a search.
Hi Patrick,

IE9 does return test results, but Chrome and Firefox do not. I do see both request though.

I'm using the ie9/firefox/chrome instances listed here: https://sites.google.com/a/webpagetest.o...AMI-Images , and the only one that comes up in a search is the Virginia instance.

California search( etc )
http://aws.amazon.com/search?searchQuery...&x=28&y=17

Is that ami listing out of date?

Thanks!
For chrome and firefox to work you will need a location configured for them and you should flip the definition:

Code:
[Test_wptdriver]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label="Test Location"

[Test]
browser=IE 9
label="IE 9"

The listing is up to date. I've never used that search method, I usually go to:
- aws console
- EC2
- Select region
- Select "AMIs" under images
- viewing -> All Images
- Search -> ami-f97029bc

I can see it fine in the EC2 console under multiple accounts. I'm not sure why their other search method doesn't list it (maybe because they have the same source name across all the regions).
please check my locations.ini

[locations]
1=Local
default=Local

[Local]
1=Local-URLBlast
2=Local-WPTDriver
label=Local

[Local-URLBlast]
browser=IE 9
latency=0
label="Local - IE 9"


[Local-WPTDriver]
browser=Chrome
label="Local-Agents"

once i submit the start test its showing me to waiting at the front of the queue and not finished.
Pages: 1 2
Reference URL's