WebPagetest Forums

Full Version: 500 Error with IE test! Help!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone,

I have an error when testing my website, https://www.prizegrand.com with IE. I dont have any issues when testing from other browsers, it is just IE that returns a 500 error. You're all welcome to do a performance test for yourselves, but this is what i get:

IE (the one with 500 error):
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_V7_3E4CB/

Firefox browser (no problems here!)
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_ZE_3E4CV/

Again, It is just IE that renders a 500 error. Can anyone tell me why this is happening? Chrome and Firefox work perfectly fine... so i dont know what the problem is Sad

Can someone check what is happening pleeeeeaaassseee? Big Grin

Thanks,
Prizegrand
(03-02-2012 07:16 AM)prizegrand Wrote: [ -> ]Hi everyone,

I have an error when testing my website, https://www.prizegrand.com with IE. I dont have any issues when testing from other browsers, it is just IE that returns a 500 error. You're all welcome to do a performance test for yourselves, but this is what i get:

IE (the one with 500 error):
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_V7_3E4CB/

Firefox browser (no problems here!)
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/120301_ZE_3E4CV/

Again, It is just IE that renders a 500 error. Can anyone tell me why this is happening? Chrome and Firefox work perfectly fine... so i dont know what the problem is Sad

Can someone check what is happening pleeeeeaaassseee? Big Grin

Thanks,
Prizegrand

Seems like your Server ALWAYS throws a HTTP 500 Error when the basepage is requested! But apparently Browsers react differently. Your HTTP 500 Response has a full body containing the HTML of your website, so a Browser MIGHT render it. Don't know if this is mandatory by the Spec.
So, it would be a good idea to find out, why your Webserver ALWAYS sends a HTTP 500 for the Basepage (instead of a HTTP 200), even though only IE8 seems to have a problem with that.

Best wishes,
Markus
I'm using CloudFlare, and i think it is their fault since the data shows this in response:
HTTP/1.1 500 Internal Server Error
Server: cloudflare-nginx
Date: Thu, 01 Mar 2012 21:12:24 GMT
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: keep-alive
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.17
Set-Cookie: PHPSESSID=88908bea2e1935fb6567cb63fb424454; path=/
Expires: Thu, 19 Nov 1981 08:52:00 GMT
Cache-Control: no-store, no-cache, must-revalidate, post-check=0, pre-check=0
Pragma: no-cache
Set-Cookie: __cfduid=d5996f37fe6baf1f49d47954201b56b051330636344; expires=Mon, 23-Dec-2019 23:50:00 GMT; path=/; domain=.prizegrand.com
Set-Cookie: __cfduid=d5996f37fe6baf1f49d47954201b56b051330636344; expires=Mon, 23-Dec-2019 23:50:00 GMT; path=/; domain=.www.prizegrand.com
FWIW, the IE behavior is probably WebPagetest-specific. I end the test as soon as a page-level error is detected (so testing fancy 404 pages doesn't work either). Absolutely something you need to fix though, I can't imagine the search bots like 500's very much.

You should ping cloudflare because it's not a problem I'm used to seeing with them. 5xx errors are usually returned because they had some kind of problem communicating back to the origin server.
This is kind of odd because a 500 internal server error is directly an issue with your server. Does temporarily deactivating CloudFlare (settings->deactivate) in your account resolve the issue? If not, it is most certainly an issue on your server & might be some sort of .htacess permission, plugin problem, etc.

Please contact us if it is only present with CloudFlare enabled. Link: http://support.cloudflare.com/cgi/discussion/new
no problem, i now know its server based... but i dont know what internally lol
Reference URL's