WebPagetest Forums

Full Version: android phone not returning results
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,
I have managed to get both an Apple 4 and ZTE V790 (Telstra Pulse T790) android phone blaze-agent installed. Android phone was much harder because I had to root the phone and install SU Application before I could get blaze-agent working. Unfortunately when I run the webpagetest private instance and select the android phone, sure enough the agent on the android phone starts up a browser session but the webpagetest page indicates that the test was completed but there were no results. IOS phone works fine. Any suggestions to why the Android phone is not producing results?
You might also want to create an issue here: https://code.google.com/p/mobitest-agent/issues/list so that the dev team sees it.

What version of Android? I've only tested it with a pretty ancient CyanogenMod 7.0.3 (gingerbread) so it's possible that updates are needed for newer releases (pretty sure the Akamai team has kept it up to date).
(07-30-2013 12:26 AM)pmeenan Wrote: [ -> ]You might also want to create an issue here: https://code.google.com/p/mobitest-agent/issues/list so that the dev team sees it.

What version of Android? I've only tested it with a pretty ancient CyanogenMod 7.0.3 (gingerbread) so it's possible that updates are needed for newer releases (pretty sure the Akamai team has kept it up to date).

The Android phone is a Telstra Pulse T790 which I believe is ZTE V790. Android version is 4.0.4. I suspect the build has not completed and this is why files are not being uploaded.
Reading from the instructions provided with the mobitest source code I could not find my phone on the CyanogenMod website. Instead I used a root v790.exe file from the internet which gave me the SuperUser app. I was able to install tcpdump to /data/local and chmod to /data. But I don't know how to make client run tcpdump from /data/local
It appears to be a problem with not being able to zip up the code. Two other possible causes is tcpdump not in the right location. I installed it in /data/local but could not install it under /system/xbin. Phone wouldn't let me. and secondly src code issue. Had a problem compiling it initially due to cachemanager class error. I ended up creating a cachemanager class by copying code off the internet. It let me compile but I don't know if its related to the fault.
I have managed to get tcpdump installed under /system/xbin. It is now working and zip is working as well, but I am not getting the results to upload to the server and show on the webpagetest page. I am thinking there are other executables I may need to load or something else is missing. Any thoughts?
You can look in the results directory on the server to see if it got a pcap file (to narrow down the issue to being on the server or with the agent).
(07-31-2013 05:14 AM)pmeenan Wrote: [ -> ]You can look in the results directory on the server to see if it got a pcap file (to narrow down the issue to being on the server or with the agent).

No. The pcap files are not copied over to the server. I am compiling the code using android 4.2. Phone is 4.0.4. A colleague has suggested compiling the code at version 2.x because of the classes. At the moment cache manager.java Is deprecated. Cold this be the problem.
(08-01-2013 07:09 AM)grahamgalea@hotmail.com Wrote: [ -> ]
(07-31-2013 05:14 AM)pmeenan Wrote: [ -> ]You can look in the results directory on the server to see if it got a pcap file (to narrow down the issue to being on the server or with the agent).

No. The pcap files are not copied over to the server. I am compiling the code using android 4.2. Phone is 4.0.4. A colleague has suggested compiling the code at version 2.x because of the classes. At the moment cache manager.java Is deprecated. Cold this be the problem.

I recompiled the code using Android 2.3.3 platform in eclipse. No errors or warnings were indicated but once loaded to the phone, webpagetest still not showing results. I am beginning to believe mobitest Android doesn't work on phones later than 2.3.3. Is this a similar experience with others?
Has anybody else made progress on this issue?

I am trying to setup mobitest on on android and have hit a wall at this point. I'm getting JSON errors in the logcat with no 'successful results' displayed on the workdone page. When I opt to process the har files on the server, there are no errors but there are still no results. From what I've found with various searches, this seems to be a problem with forming the POST that is not occurring on the iPhone version of the app. My failures are on 3.0 with 2.12 of webpagetest and r35 of mobitest.

There's an issue published on the project site, but it would appear that nobody's made any progress there:
http://code.google.com/p/mobitest-agent/...tail?id=13

OP, did you ever find a solution to the problem?
(09-19-2013 03:25 AM)milbournosphere Wrote: [ -> ]Has anybody else made progress on this issue?

I am trying to setup mobitest on on android and have hit a wall at this point. I'm getting JSON errors in the logcat with no 'successful results' displayed on the workdone page. When I opt to process the har files on the server, there are no errors but there are still no results. From what I've found with various searches, this seems to be a problem with forming the POST that is not occurring on the iPhone version of the app. My failures are on 3.0 with 2.12 of webpagetest and r35 of mobitest.

There's an issue published on the project site, but it would appear that nobody's made any progress there:
http://code.google.com/p/mobitest-agent/...tail?id=13

OP, did you ever find a solution to the problem?

Ive managed to get it working on apple devices with a little trouble but not the android.

Ive hit the exact same wall as this thread, i can see using packet sniffers the agent sending data and files back to the server but they dont have the required information for the WPT server to display results (missing json mainly). It all appears to fire up and function on the device but the zip or data collection appears to be broken.

Ive been monitoring the mobi agent site for months and no changes, im sure it would only take a few hours or so for someone to figure out.
Im just not a programmer Sad

This would be a amazing step forward to get this working in open source.

Steffen.
http://www.ovalis.com.au
Pages: 1 2
Reference URL's