WebPagetest Forums

Full Version: Will reboot occur during testing?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
If a 10 run test is running and the automatic reboot interval expires on that test machine before the 10 runs complete, does the test machine reboot or does it wait until the 10 tests complete before rebooting? Or does the machine reboot and the testing continues after reboot? Would the machine reboot during a run?

Sorry if these are lame questions but I couldn't find any documentation nor could I find anything in the forum about this. I just want to get a better understanding of this.

Also, what is http://mzschwartz.com? Is this a mirrored site?

Thanks
It will wait until the tests complete before rebooting (and if it doesn't it is a bug but I haven't seen that happen before).

Thanks for the heads-up on mzschwartz.com - no idea who they are but it looks like they were tunneling traffic (and I expect replacing ads with their own). I just put some protections in place that should help (still trying to figure out if there is anything I can do about the main page)
wow, turns out they were just pointing to my A record and I had the default vhost config serve webpagetest. Easy enough to have it point to a bogus location instead :-)
Thanks for the quick reply Patrick. I just want to make sure that the automated tests I'm running at night aren't affected by the short reboot interval I have set for all my test machines. I haven't seen anything to indicate this, but I just wanted to be sure.

As for mzschwartz.com I stumbled across it during my Googling for my answer. Unfortunately I didn't realize it until after I logged in with my webpagetest.org credentials. I hope my account wasn't jeopardized. I went ahead and changed my password anyway.
And now to turn the tables. Since it was on my server, I took ownership in Google webmaster tools, "moved" the site and put in a 301 permanent redirect to webpagetest.org as the default. That should unwind any credit they were trying to siphon off :-)
no risk to your account - turns out they pointed their DNS records to my IP address so you were hitting my site and your traffic was still flowing to me. My guess is that they were trying to establish some page rank or value for the domain before doing something with it.
Nice!
(04-08-2011 06:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote: [ -> ]no risk to your account - turns out they pointed their DNS records to my IP address so you were hitting my site and your traffic was still flowing to me. My guess is that they were trying to establish some page rank or value for the domain before doing something with it.

Now they are doing a permanent redirect to webpagetest.org (or maybe its you doing it -- thats the first step i usually take if a site is a catch-all type vhost on an ip)

Code:
sajal@sajal-laptop:~$ HEAD -S http://mzschwartz.com/
HEAD http://mzschwartz.com/ --> 301 Moved Permanently
HEAD http://www.webpagetest.org/ --> 200 OK
Connection: close
Date: Fri, 08 Apr 2011 20:03:37 GMT
Server: Apache
Vary: Accept-Encoding
Content-Type: text/html
Client-Date: Fri, 08 Apr 2011 20:03:36 GMT
Client-Peer: 72.66.115.10:80
Client-Response-Num: 1
Set-Cookie: o=14f8c40c462907f1ea3656381984e12835c5a025; expires=Sat, 07-Apr-2012 20:03:37 GMT; path=/

sajal@sajal-laptop:~$
That's me - used to serve the default site off the vip but this works much better.
Reference URL's