WebPagetest Forums
Cache static failed? - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Discuss Test Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Cache static failed? (/showthread.php?tid=12025)



Cache static failed? - laboot - 02-06-2013 06:58 PM

Consider the following test result.

---
1. Can you please clarify, why there is a "Big Red X" for "Cache Static" for request #1 (text/html)?

Code:
Date: Wed, 06 Feb 2013 08:45:39 GMT
Server: Apache
Last-Modified: Tue, 29 Jan 2013 19:59:12 GMT
Expires: 0
Vary: Accept-Encoding
Content-Encoding: gzip
Cache-Control: private, max-age=0
Content-Length: 3821
Keep-Alive: timeout=5, max=99
Connection: Keep-Alive
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8

---
2. Also, there are no nice "Green Checkboxes" for request #2 (13a.css) and request #8 (13a.js) for "Minify JS". Is it ok?

---
3. Also, may I suggest -- if "Document Complete" (or possibly "Load Time") is faster than 1.0s, for "CDN detected" column issue "Warning" instead of "Failed".


RE: Cache static failed? - Chris Stark - 02-06-2013 07:36 PM

#1 It doesn't look like you're caching your main HTML file, correct? Max-Age = 0.


RE: Cache static failed? - laboot - 02-06-2013 08:02 PM

(02-06-2013 07:36 PM)Chris Stark Wrote:  #1 It doesn't look like you're caching your main HTML file, correct? Max-Age = 0.

Not sure (but this is why I am asking). Google also uses "max-age=0". And it is absolutely ok to not cache root text/html. In worst case this is some kind of warning.


RE: Cache static failed? - Chris Stark - 02-06-2013 08:32 PM

You might consider creating the background images in to a Sprite and running all the images through ImgOptim. You'd also benefit from Google Pagespeed. At some point getting any quicker is irrelevant though if you'd loading in sub-second times.


RE: Cache static failed? - laboot - 02-07-2013 02:39 AM

(02-06-2013 08:32 PM)Chris Stark Wrote:  You might consider creating the background images in to a Sprite and running all the images through ImgOptim. You'd also benefit from Google Pagespeed. At some point getting any quicker is irrelevant though if you'd loading in sub-second times.

Thanks for sprites. I'm already doing heavy spriting -- all layout is 100% css sprite. All other images are for Google Images.

By the way, I'm doing quite well in site benchmarks. See by yourself Smile
Still waiting for pmeenan response.