WebPagetest Forums
WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Private Instances (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+--- Thread: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet (/showthread.php?tid=12178)

Pages: 1 2


WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - andreapernici - 04-12-2013 06:14 PM

I set up a Private instance with a Windows7 test machine for agents.

When I execute WPTdriver it tells me Failed to initialize dummynet and when I execute a test from my private instance I get
"The test completed but there were no successful results"

In the error logs I don't have any issue and the access log receive correctly the request.

What to do?

Going to the install folder I get

IE 1 Agent connected
Chrome, Firefox 1 Agent connected


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - pmeenan - 04-12-2013 08:59 PM

Did you install the dummynet driver? - step 10 here: https://sites.google.com/a/webpagetest.org/docs/private-instances#TOC-General-Machine-Configuration-common-for-all-browsers-

If you didn't install it then you need to add a "connectivity=LAN" to your location in locations.ini so it doesn't try to do traffic shaping.


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - andreapernici - 04-12-2013 10:44 PM

Hi Patrick, thanks for your answer.

I realized only now that the provider tell me they give me a 32bit, but the server was 64bit.

I reinstalled the correct drivers and now it works Wink

I have only a problem with UrlBlaster that give the error but chrome and firefox works.
The only thing is missing is the PageSpeed tab in the result. How to get it work? I must install something?


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - pmeenan - 04-12-2013 11:08 PM

Page Speed is only available with URLBlaster and IE. If you update to the latest agents it may fix urlblaster on 64-bit for you: https://sites.google.com/a/webpagetest.org/docs/private-instances#TOC-Updating-Test-Agents


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - andreapernici - 04-12-2013 11:34 PM

Ok I downloaded and intalled the 2 files and uploaded, but IE still not work.

I read that the update is automatic but probably it isn't.
There's something else to do?


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - pmeenan - 04-12-2013 11:36 PM

What version of IE and OS? What exactly is failing? does it launch IE at all?

You might need to use wptdriver (add a section for IE that points to the iexplore.exe in the x86 program files directory).


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - andreapernici - 04-13-2013 12:06 AM

Ok so I can use wpt driver also for IE?

Which are the exact configuration? Is there a sample file for IE?

I have Windows 7 64bit and IE version 10.0.4 but URLblaster tell me that the version is 9.

The browser execute but then on the installation side I have no results.


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - pmeenan - 04-13-2013 01:04 AM

Yes, urlblaster is only for IE 9 or earlier: https://sites.google.com/a/webpagetest.org/docs/private-instances#TOC-wptdriver-Chrome-Firefox-Safari-IE-6-10-

the wptdriver.ini.sample should have had an IE sample: http://webpagetest.googlecode.com/svn/trunk/agent/wptdriver/wptdriver.ini.sample


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - andreapernici - 04-13-2013 01:21 AM

Wonderful. Now It works also in explorer.

How to use PageSpeed?
I didn't see the tab even if with IE.


RE: WPTdriver - Failed to initialize dummynet - pmeenan - 04-13-2013 02:47 AM

You can't get page speed results for IE 10 currently. Adding support for it for wptdriver is on my list of things to do.