WebPagetest Forums
long time to first byte, due to webserver configuration or website ? - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Discuss Test Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: long time to first byte, due to webserver configuration or website ? (/showthread.php?tid=12183)



long time to first byte, due to webserver configuration or website ? - httTp - 04-15-2013 10:53 PM

Hello

For my web site I have a rather long Time to First Byte (more than 6 sec).
How can I be sure of the main cause of this: webserver configuration (apache) or website generation itself (drupal)?

Any ideas ?Smile

Thank you


RE: long time to first byte, due to webserver configuration or website ? - pmeenan - 04-16-2013 03:10 AM

Odds are strongly that it is going to be in the website generation itself but the only way to know for sure is to measure. If you have root access to the server I highly recommend installing New Relic - it will tell you what is causing the slow times really quickly.

If you don't have root access you will have to either instrument the code manually to log to a file or to use a plugin like this: http://drupal.org/project/performance


RE: long time to first byte, due to webserver configuration or website ? - xpert - 05-09-2013 03:53 AM

(04-15-2013 10:53 PM)httTp Wrote:  Hello

For my web site I have a rather long Time to First Byte (more than 6 sec).
How can I be sure of the main cause of this: webserver configuration (apache) or website generation itself (drupal)?

Any ideas ?Smile

Thank you
I am sure its drupal. Please be sure that you have enabled drupal cache and don't have developers plugins like devel enabled.

Installing APC and fine tuning mysql can also help.
thanks