WebPagetest Forums
The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Bugs/Issues (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. (/showthread.php?tid=13207)



The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - deivanaixyz - 09-02-2014 07:52 PM

I gave connectivity=LAN in locations.ini. It seems to work now
In Chrome, I get this message
The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start.
On the browser (wptdriver), when I submit a URL, I find
http://127.0.0.1:8888/blank.html on the URL tab and nothing loads.

Your help is much appreciated


RE: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - prashrathod7 - 11-02-2014 11:02 PM

Same Here....!


RE: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - pmeenan - 11-04-2014 02:07 AM

Can you check help->about and make sure you don't have the 64-bit version of Chrome installed? It will only work with 32-bit.


Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start - abhi - 11-12-2014 08:42 PM

chrome browser --> help --> about --> just shows browser version ; doesn't show if its 32 or 64 bit. Guessing it means its 32 bit (for 64 bit it explicitly mentioned?).


RE: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - deivanaixyz - 11-17-2014 07:32 PM

In what scenario, do I get this message?


RE: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - pmeenan - 11-18-2014 06:15 AM

It's pretty much the catch-all message for when there is no data for a test but the test finished (or was timed out).


RE: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - ggeilman - 11-18-2014 09:11 AM

I have the same problem. I'm guessing since I upgraded to Yosemite (Mac OS 10.10). Any solutions for getting 32-bit on Mac? I don't see the finder 32-bit option under get info anymore.


RE: The Test completed but failed. The test timed out waiting for the browser to start. - pmeenan - 11-18-2014 10:11 AM

Huh? The test agents run on Windows (at least the mainline desktop agents). The Node.js agent should work for either 32 or 64-bit but it doesn't get a lot of testing with desktop browsers, our main focus with it is Mobile.