WebPagetest Forums
Chrome command line parameters - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: WebPagetest (/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Forum: Bugs/Issues (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Chrome command line parameters (/showthread.php?tid=14066)



Chrome command line parameters - frankf - 11-17-2015 01:40 AM

I'm trying to override DNS while running a test. With my local Chrome, I can do that with the following command line:
chrome.exe --host-rules="MAP my.host.com 100.101.102.103" http://my.host.com/path

To do the same thing in webpagetest, I set "Command-line" (in the "Chrome" tab) to '--host-rules="MAP my.host.com 100.101.102.103"'. However, I then get an error message:
Invalid command-line option: "100.101.102.103""

Seems like the validation of command line parameters is not allowing spaces in parameters.
Is that a bug, or maybe an intentional protection against security problems?
Is there any other way to override DNS?


RE: Chrome command line parameters - johnrussell9983 - 11-20-2015 04:11 AM

Try using the script tab with your test and use this:

usage: setDns <host name> <IP Address>
example: setDns http://www.aol.com 127.0.0.1

<host name> - Host name for the DNS entry to override
<IP Address> - IP Address for the host name to resolve to


RE: Chrome command line parameters - frankf - 11-26-2015 06:26 PM

Great, that approach solved my problem. Thanks for the hint!

For the benefit of other non-expert users - the script that does it for me is:
Code:
setDns    www.mytestedhost.com    123.234.123.234
navigate    http://www.mytestedhost.com/path/
(with the separators being tabs)

[post edited: use "code" formatting to prevent the forum from adding http in front of the DNS name]