WebPagetest Forums
www.mydomain.com vs www.mydomain.com/index.html - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Discuss Test Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: www.mydomain.com vs www.mydomain.com/index.html (/showthread.php?tid=15437)



www.mydomain.com vs www.mydomain.com/index.html - M_Lyons10 - 07-10-2018 02:03 AM

Hi everyone. I test my site regularly and recently noticed a discrepancy in the results for the First Byte Time (especially) when running a test on http://www.mydomain.com as compared to http://www.mydomain.com/index.html

Has anyone else noticed this? I recently upgraded the site to https and redirect the http to the new secure site, which is when I first noticed this.

But the http://www.mydomain.com could report a TTFB of 1100 ms, while the http://www.mydomain.com/index.html reports a TTFB of 200 ms. So it's a significant difference.

Which one would Google look at?

I'm really curious what everyone thinks. I take SEO and site speed very seriously and have been working little by little to improve it (A big thanks to WebPageTest for the amazing resource!), so I want to get this right.

Thanks everyone for your help!


RE: www.mydomain.com vs www.mydomain.com/index.html - MachMetrics - 07-11-2018 08:00 AM

Good question - I've seen issues like this before. Sometimes a server does a 301 redirect that's causing unnecessary delay - and you'd be able to see that in your waterfall. Other times it has to do with a caching layer or firewall (are you using something like cloudflare?)

Can you post both WPT test results so we can dig deeper?


RE: www.mydomain.com vs www.mydomain.com/index.html - dfavor - 07-12-2018 12:16 AM

Post your actual URL.

Attempt to guess why tends to be counterproductive.

Better to know (real data) than to guess.


RE: www.mydomain.com vs www.mydomain.com/index.html - M_Lyons10 - 07-12-2018 02:12 AM

I apologize for not including the actual domain. I got in trouble on another site for posting the actual domain (they claimed it was "advertising" as ridiculous as that is), so I didn't think I was supposed to do that...

The website is http://www.disasterblaster.com

I have also attached the WebPageTest report for both the disasterblaster.com and disasterblaster.com/index.html so that you can see what I'm talking about.

Please note that, while WebPageTest says that I do not have a CDN, I do have that set up, and have confirmed that with my host, so I'm not sure there. But I wanted to mention that in case it mattered.

I did already open a support ticket with my host about this, but I'm not sure what specifically to have them look at...

Thank you everyone for your responses to my issue. I appreciate the help and experience.

Oh, also to answer your question MachMetrics, I'm not using Cloudflare and I don't think I'm using anything similar. I don't believe I have anything like that enabled on my hosting package.