WebPagetest Forums
Is there a problem with my Keep Alive settings? - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Web Performance (/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Discuss Test Results (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Thread: Is there a problem with my Keep Alive settings? (/showthread.php?tid=15906)



Is there a problem with my Keep Alive settings? - SriniR - 09-26-2019 01:19 PM

I am struggling to understand this ...

When I run a test for one of my test websites, I am seeing that keep-alive is enabled.

https://www.webpagetest.org/result/190926_T5_606b653540713c783ad802a032508e59/

https://i.ibb.co/ZV7d9MX/keep-alive-1.png

But when I take a look at the connection view,

https://www.webpagetest.org/result/190926_T5_606b653540713c783ad802a032508e59/1/details/

I see that there are several TCP connections being made for the domain.

https://i.ibb.co/zrQj8rv/keep-alive-2.png

I am trying to understand why several TCP connections are being made although keep-alive is enabled.

And what can be done to ensure that only one TCP connection is made?

Thanks!


RE: Is there a problem with my Keep Alive settings? - pmeenan - 09-28-2019 12:52 AM

Browser will open multiple connections even with keep-alive so they can pipeline requests and avoid idle time. To get most of the requests going over a single connection you need to support HTTP/2 (which requires HTTPS)