WebPagetest Forums
Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - Printable Version

+- WebPagetest Forums (https://www.webpagetest.org/forums)
+-- Forum: Commercial Services (/forumdisplay.php?fid=18)
+--- Forum: Web Site Optimization Help Needed (/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Thread: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP (/showthread.php?tid=692)

Pages: 1 2


Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - David Dobo - 04-21-2011 04:08 AM

We have new Wordpress site www.nsi.ge

WebPageTest recomendation for me:
"If you are running a site based on WordPress, the W3 Total Cache plugin makes it easy to optimize your site."

We installed W3 Total Cache plugin, but I want to help for optimization this plugin. Please, can anybody help me ;)


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - pmeenan - 04-21-2011 09:59 AM

Have you followed the installation steps here: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/w3-total-cache/installation/ ?

I can probably walk you through some of the basics if you want to do the optimizations (otherwise there are other members here who are professionals who can do the actual work if you aren't comfortable doing it). Looking at a test result : http://www.webpagetest.org/result/110420_51_fdc326f6fcf94b3267d52f9f32a9e656/ it looks like a couple of quick tweaks should be able to help significantly (start render 50% faster, repeat views significantly faster).


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - David Dobo - 04-21-2011 02:30 PM

(04-21-2011 09:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  ... I can probably walk you through some of the basics if you want to do the optimizations ...

Please, Patrick - I trust you.
and I can give you entrust our own password (for Wordpress > admin: xxx, password:xxx). help me, please to optimize this plugin to make it work more efficiently.



RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - David Dobo - 04-24-2011 02:34 AM

(04-21-2011 09:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Have you followed the installation steps here: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/w3-total-cache/installation/ ?

Hi, Pat.

(q. about W3 Total Cache)
After disabling some unnecessary plugins, I see a message:
"One or more plugins have been activated or deactivated, please [empty the page cache] and check your [minify settings] to maintain the desired user experience."

and what should I do? I'm afraid to spoil the site. Please, give me advice.


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - pmeenan - 04-24-2011 04:18 AM

Go ahead and click on the buttons for each. That's just for W3 TC to update the cached version of the pages - it's normal and expected.


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - David Dobo - 04-24-2011 05:21 AM

(04-24-2011 04:18 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Go ahead and click on the buttons for each. That's just for W3 TC to update the cached version of the pages - it's normal and expected.

Thanks Pat Wink


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - David Dobo - 04-24-2011 09:45 PM

(04-21-2011 09:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  I can probably walk you through some of the basics if you want ... ...

Dear Pat,

Is it tests real? - our site load time = 2.1 sec.?
This test is differetnt rather than WebPageTest results:
http://tools.pingdom.com/?url=nsi.ge&treeview=0&column=objectID&order=1&type=0&save=true


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - pmeenan - 04-26-2011 07:12 AM

Be a little careful using pingdom for performance tests. They run the tests at backbone speeds and use a simulated browser (that doesn't execute javascript). It is good for testing availability but I wouldn't recommend using the performance numbers from there.

I believe gtmetrix, browser mob and yottaa all have spot-tests available that use real browsers (though they all run at backbone speeds so understand that real results are likely to be slower for most users).

Thanks,

-Pat


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - dsa - 04-28-2011 12:20 AM

The plugin is not easy to use. Moreover, optimization requires code fixing in most cases.

This is a bite of my experience http://mytech.dsa.me/en/site-optimization-w3-total-cache-problems


RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP - pmeenan - 04-28-2011 12:30 AM

I'm not sure I'd agree with that assessment. Yes, turning on some of the features requires more than just checking a checkbox but I've used it on several non-trivial sites so far and haven't had any issues. The author is the CTO at Mashable where it is also used and there are a lot more favorable reviews than negative ones.

On the whole it's a LOT easier than hand-optimizing a wordpress site, particularly one with lots of plugins but it's not as easy as if wordpress were just fast by itself. Make sure to provide feedback and ask questions directly in the forums area for W3 TC and I'm sure they will be addressed.