Current time: 08-23-2019, 12:22 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
05-19-2011, 08:52 AM
Post: #1
Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
I have cache plugins installed on my wordpress site.
Any other suggestions to fix this?
http://www.webpagetest.org/result/110518_FQ_MRQ5/
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2011, 09:23 AM
Post: #2
RE: Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
What kind of hosting are you on (shared, VPS, dedicated server)? You're probably starting to get into the realm of tuning apache, php and even the OS/filesystem.

I have a test Wordpress site that I use for playing with Wordpress - wp.patrickmeenan.com and I managed to get the cached base page returning in ~20ms: http://www.webpagetest.org/result/110518...1/details/

This is a default install (though cached may make it not make a difference). It is running on the same server as webpagetest.org (dedicated hardware) with the following config:

- Ubuntu 10.04
- Apache with mod_rewrite, mod_expires and php running as a module (mod_php)
- PHP 5.3.2 (I think - whatever the latest stable is)
- PHP APC cache (php5-apc) - this is pretty critical to fast php performance
- Web content served from Intel 40GB value SSD (<$100)
- W3TC installed with page, database and object caches all enabled and using the APC object cache as a store

The hardware isn't anything all that beefy - it's an Atom server with 4GB of Ram but it's nice and low power and plenty for serving web pages.

If you're on shared hosting you have a lot fewer options but if you're on VPS or dedicated hosting, make sure APC is installed and enabled and see if you can configure your cache to use it instead of disk.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2011, 04:01 PM
Post: #3
RE: Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
You are using Application Cache without content (No manifest), make a manifest and use AppCache.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2011, 05:51 PM
Post: #4
RE: Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
(05-19-2011 09:23 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  What kind of hosting are you on (shared, VPS, dedicated server)?
shared hostgator
(05-19-2011 09:23 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  You're probably starting to get into the realm of tuning apache, php and even the OS/filesystem.
not sure what you mean
(05-19-2011 09:23 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  If you're on shared hosting you have a lot fewer options but if you're on VPS or dedicated hosting, make sure APC is installed and enabled and see if you can configure your cache to use it instead of disk.
yeah, i'm on shared, so no control over that stuff

(05-19-2011 04:01 PM)piratos Wrote:  You are using Application Cache without content (No manifest), make a manifest and use AppCache.
i wouldnt even know where to begin to add such a manifest. i use 2 cache plugins, and i dont see any options for a manifest.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2011, 11:53 PM
Post: #5
RE: Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
I think you're about as fast as you're going to be able to get on shared hosting (I'm actually a little surprised it's as fast as it is). I tried blocking the javascript and Facebook but it didn't make the page any faster visually: http://www.webpagetest.org/video/compare...o+JS+or+FB
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-19-2011, 11:58 PM
Post: #6
RE: Most of My Load is Time to First Byte
(05-19-2011 11:53 PM)pmeenan Wrote:  I think you're about as fast as you're going to be able to get on shared hosting (I'm actually a little surprised it's as fast as it is). I tried blocking the javascript and Facebook but it didn't make the page any faster visually: http://www.webpagetest.org/video/compare...o+JS+or+FB
cool cool
thanks
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)