Current time: 12-15-2019, 06:25 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Chrome and firefox help
01-11-2012, 01:52 AM
Post: #1
Chrome and firefox help
So I cant seem to get things working for Chrome and firefox . I think its my location and labeling thats mixed up, not sure. I could be missing something in the instructions too.

Alright here we go, if I understand correctly ( 50/50 chance here - your prob thinking less Wink ) to get Chrome and Firefox to work in need to do the following.

Chrome and Firefox Setup

1. Configure the test system to automatically log-on to an administrator account. Running "control userpasswords2" from the start menu is one way to configure it.
2. Disable any screen savers (the desktop needs to remain visible for the video capture to work)
3. Disable UAC (Vista or later - slide to "never notify")
4. Uninstall IE Enhanced-Security Mode (Windows Server)
5. Copy the test software from the agent folder to the system (to "c:\webpagetest" for this example)
6. Install the DUMMYNET ipfw driver
o Pull up the properties for the Network Adapter that is used to access the Internet
o Click "Install"
o Select "Service" and click "Add"
o Click "Have Disk" and navigate to c:\webpagetest\dummynet
o Select the ipfw+dummynet service (and click through any warnings about the driver being unsigned)
7. Create a shortcut to c:\webpagetest\dummynet\ipfw.cmd in the startup folder
8. Create a shortcut to c:\webpagetest\urlblast.exe in the startup folder
9. Make a copy of the settings file (urlblast.ini) based on the sample
o Give it the path to the server (default configuration points to a server on the local machine)
o Configure the location to match the location defined on the server in locations.ini (if modified)
o Configure the location key to match the server in locations.ini (if modified)
o Add "Use Current Account=1" to urlblast.ini <-is that the chrome frame in a nut shell?
10. Chrome testing can be configured to run on the same machine as Internet Explorer (tests will not run at the same time, they will alternate)
11. Install Chrome
12. Create a shortcut to c:\webpagetest\wptdriver.exe in the startup folder
13. Make a copy of the settings file (wptdriver.ini) based on the sample
o Make sure the path to the Chrome executable is correct for your system
o Configure the location to match the location defined on the server in locations.ini
o Configure the location key to match the server in locations.ini
o Copy the sample chrome extension directory to somewhere like c:\webpagetest and change the options flag to reflect the new location
14. Reboot to make sure everything starts up correctly

Is that right?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 04:43 AM
Post: #2
RE: Chrome and firefox help
If someone was nice Big Grin They could show me their IE, Chrome and Firefox setup (locations.ini,wptdriver.ini,urlBlast.ini) Big Grin This would help a lot. The samples are just not enough for me.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 05:03 AM
Post: #3
RE: Chrome and firefox help
Chrome/Firefox is steps 11-13. If you mail me your current versions I can take a look. The samples are working configurations but may not make enough sense when you go to edit it.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 06:05 AM
Post: #4
RE: Chrome and firefox help
(01-11-2012 05:03 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Chrome/Firefox is steps 11-13. If you mail me your current versions I can take a look. The samples are working configurations but may not make enough sense when you go to edit it.

So I could just do steps 11-13 for Chrome/Firefox to work? no need to do steps 1-10?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 06:07 AM
Post: #5
RE: Chrome and firefox help
Sorry, 8 and 9 are the IE-specific steps. Everything before step 8 is basic machine configuration that is needed by both.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 06:51 AM (This post was last modified: 01-11-2012 08:04 AM by mikemontrel.)
Post: #6
RE: Chrome and firefox help
(01-11-2012 06:07 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Sorry, 8 and 9 are the IE-specific steps. Everything before step 8 is basic machine configuration that is needed by both.

Fixed

[WebPagetest]
url=http://mysite.com/work <had put work here
location=Test
browser=chrome
key=my key
;debug=1

[chrome]
exe=""C:\Documents and Settings\user\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe""
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --new-window --no-proxy-server --no-first-run --no-default-browser-check --enable-experimental-extension-apis'

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
template=firefox
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 07:26 AM
Post: #7
RE: Chrome and firefox help
Hmm, are you not running WebPagetest at the root? /work should be automatically appended and things get kind of screwy in general if WebPagetest is not running at the root of a vhost.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 08:08 AM (This post was last modified: 01-11-2012 08:09 AM by mikemontrel.)
Post: #8
RE: Chrome and firefox help
I am running WebPagetest at the root
Url Files Url=http://www.mydomain.com/work/ < i have this in my urlBlast.ini
and
url=http://www.mydomain/ < i have this in my wptdriver.ini (thats why i had /work I thought it needed it)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-11-2012, 08:52 AM
Post: #9
RE: Chrome and firefox help
Yeah, sorry - we took the opportunity to clean things up a bit with the configuration on the new codebase but it made it a bit inconsistent.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)