Current time: 10-17-2019, 01:52 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
04-18-2014, 07:36 AM (This post was last modified: 04-25-2014 10:02 AM by Raza.)
Post: #1
No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
I have a locally installed instance of WebPagetest. I installed it on a Windows 7 32-bit machine. Here is how installed the WebPagetest 2.14 software:

1. Downloaded the zip file for WebPageTest and unzipped it to create the following directories:

a. agent
b. mobile
c. www

2. Installed Xamp on my PC and configured apache directory to point to :

C:\wpt-www\

3. Put all the contents of directory 'www' from step 1 above into the directory, 'C:\wpt-www\'.
4. Created another directory 'C:\wpt-agent\' and put the contents of directory 'agent' from step 1 into it.
5. Installed various packages as per instructions and configured site for test locations and browsers.

However when I run apache and then point my browser to localhost, I don't get the Test Locations or Browser selections (appear blank). I know that my configuration is not correct. I have attached a partial screenshot of what I see as output when I point my browser to 'localhost/install'. I have put in a "print_r" instruction in file index.php to give the output of the $locations array on stdout.

I will appreciate any help in configuring my private instance. I have copied the contents of two files below:


locations.ini:

=====================
[locations]
1=Local
default=Local

;
; These are the top-level locations that are listed in the location dropdown
; Each one points to one or more browser configurations
;

[Local]
1=Local-URLBlast
2=Local-WPTDriver
label="Local"

;
; These are the browser-specific configurations that match the configurations
; defined in the top-level locations. Each one of these MUST match the location
; name configured on the test agent (urlblast.ini or wptdriver.ini)
;

[Local-URLBlast]
browser=IE 10
latency=0
label="Local - IE 10"
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
;key=TestKey123

;
; For a wptdriver configuration (chrome, firefox), the browser labels here
; MUST match the labels used in wptdriver.ini
;

[Local-WPTDriver]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label="Local"
===================


wptdriver.ini:
=====================
[WebPagetest]
url=http://wpt-www/
location=Local-WPTDriver
browser=chrome
;key=TestKey123
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://wpt-www/installers/software.dat

[chrome]
exe="C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://wpt-www/installers/browsers/chrome.dat

[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
installer=http://wpt-www/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

[Safari]
exe="C:\Program Files\Safari\Safari.exe"

[IE]
exe="C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"
===========

urlBlast.ini:
=============

urlBlast.ini:http://www.webpagetest.org/forums/images/smilies/smile.gif
=============
[Configuration]
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\wpt-agent\agent\urlblast
Timeout=120
use current account=1

; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://wpt-www/work/
Location=Local-URLBlast
;Location Key=TestKey123


Attached File(s) Image(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-21-2014, 12:36 AM
Post: #2
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
What do the requests to getwork.php in your Apache (?) logs look like?

Andy

Using WebPageTest - http://usingwpt.com/
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-22-2014, 05:35 AM (This post was last modified: 04-22-2014 10:12 AM by Raza.)
Post: #3
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
Hi Andy!

I tried to run a test for the google website (http://www.google.com) and then checked the access and error log files for apache. Did not find in them any call for the method getwork.php. The GUI stays frozen at the "Waiting" message as shown in the screenshot below and the test does not get processed. Please take a look at the screenshot below.

As an aside, if you have already got a private instance running, please upload the necessary setup files (masking out the real names of course) so that others who are struggling to configure the instance can copy those setups and modify them as needed.

Thanks for your kind reply!

Regards!
Safdar


Attached File(s) Image(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2014, 09:26 AM (This post was last modified: 04-26-2014 10:30 AM by Raza.)
Post: #4
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
When I ran the "install.php" file in a debugger, I found that running the index.php file creates two files in the directory:

C:\wpt-www\tmp:

Local-URLBlast.lock
Local-WPTDriver.lock

These look like semaphore files with no data in them. However, this index.php file tries to check for a file (in first iteration):

182: if (is_file($file)) {

This $file is a string in the first iteration, the debugger shows it to be,"./tmp/Local-URLBlast.tm". At the time this check was done during code run, as coded on line 182 (install.php), this file did not exist. So how does this file get written inside the tmp directory?

I am hoping that this hint might generate a helpful comment from any forum members that can help me track down the setup issues.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2014, 05:14 AM
Post: #5
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
Your access logs should have requests for getwork.php from the test agents otherwise they aren't configured correctly to point to your server. Do you have your locations.ini from the server and wptdriver.ini/urlblast.ini from the test agent?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2014, 10:31 AM (This post was last modified: 04-29-2014 10:34 AM by Raza.)
Post: #6
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
Hi Patrick:

I have copied my files below. The Local-WPTDriver is configured properly but the Local-URLBlast is not as you can see in the attached picture below. I ran the index.php file to generate the results.

What am I doing wrong in the setups?

I very much appreciate your reply!

Regards!
Safdar


========
locations.ini:
========

[locations]
1=Local
default=Local

;
; These are the top-level locations that are listed in the location dropdown
; Each one points to one or more browser configurations
;

[Local]
1=Local-URLBlast
2=Local-WPTDriver
label="Local"

;
; These are the browser-specific configurations that match the configurations
; defined in the top-level locations. Each one of these MUST match the location
; name configured on the test agent (urlblast.ini or wptdriver.ini)
;

[Local-URLBlast]
browser=IE 10
latency=0
label="Local - IE 10"
;browserExe=pagetest.exe
;key=TestKey123

;
; For a wptdriver configuration (chrome, firefox), the browser labels here
; MUST match the labels used in wptdriver.ini
;

[Local-WPTDriver]
browser=Chrome,Firefox
label="Local - WPT"



=========
urlBlast.ini:
=========

[Configuration]
Url=http://127.0.0.1/work/
Location=Local-URLBlast
browser=IE 10
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\wpt-agent\agent\urlblast
Timeout=120
use current account=1

[IE 10]
exe="C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"


=========
wptdriver.ini:
=========

[WebPagetest]
url=http://127.0.0.1/
location=Local-WPTDriver
browser=chrome
;key=TestKey123
;Automatically install and update support software (Flash, Silverlight, etc)
software=http://wpt-www/installers/software.dat


[chrome]
exe="C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
options='--load-extension="%WPTDIR%\extension" --user-data-dir="%PROFILE%" --no-proxy-server'
installer=http://127.0.0.1/installers/browsers/chrome.dat


[Firefox]
exe="C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"
options='-profile "%PROFILE%" -no-remote'
installer=http://127.0.0.1/installers/browsers/firefox.dat
template=firefox

[Safari]
exe="C:\Program Files\Safari\Safari.exe"

[IE]
exe="C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"


Attached File(s) Image(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-30-2014, 09:42 AM
Post: #7
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
For the above set of configuration files, running the debugger on the ..\install\index.php file I observed that on line number 182, it is trying to see if the following file exists:

Line 182: if (is_file($file)) {
$now = time()

Using the debugger, I found that the $file variable has the value:

$file = ./tmp/local-URLBlast.tm

However this file does not exist in the directory tmp. So this may be the cause of the failure for the "No Agents Connected" message in the screenshot above.

Can someone tell me why the index.php file is looking for this ./tmp/local-URLBlast.tm file and how is this file generated? This may give me a clue to my setup issues.

Thanks!
Raza
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2014, 06:54 AM
Post: #8
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
(04-29-2014 05:14 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Your access logs should have requests for getwork.php from the test agents otherwise they aren't configured correctly to point to your server. Do you have your locations.ini from the server and wptdriver.ini/urlblast.ini from the test agent?


Hi Patrick!

My access logs have requests from "getwork.php" when I ran a test on IE10.
I also configured my locations.ini file from the server and wptdriver.ini and urlblast.ini files from the test agent.

Here is a fraction of the log output from the apache access logs:

127.0.0.1 - - [30/Apr/2014:13:49:18 -0700] "GET /work/getwork.php?shards=1&location=Local-WPTDriver&software=wpt&version=2.14.0.170&ver=170&pc=TOOLBOX&dns=17.128.100.10-17.128.100.12&freedisk=21.095&GPU=1 HTTP/1.1" 200 - "-" "WebPagetest Driver"
::1 - - [30/Apr/2014:13:49:18 -0700] "GET /testStatus.php?f=json&pos=1&test=140430_87_6 HTTP/1.1" 200 258 "http://localhost/result/140430_87_6/" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:28.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/28.0"
::1 - - [30/Apr/2014:13:49:22 -0700] "GET /cancelTest.php?test=140430_87_6 HTTP/1.1" 200 181 "http://localhost/result/140430_87_6/" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:28.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/28.0"
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2014, 08:43 AM (This post was last modified: 05-01-2014 04:45 PM by Raza.)
Post: #9
RE: No drop down lists for Test Location and Browser
I am getting the jobs scheduled in my jobs directory:

C:\wpt-www\work\jobs\Local-URLBlast

work filename is : 140430_08_E.url

(My directory is configured for C:\wpt-www\)

My URLBlast.ini file is :

--------------------------
[Configuration]

browser=IE10
Startup Delay=30
Log File=c:\wpt-www\agent\urlblast
Timeout=120
use current account=1

; Where to get work from
Url Files Url=http://127.0.0.1/work/
Location=Local-URLBlast

[IE10]
exe="C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe"

------------------------------------------

The problem is that the job appears in the jobs directory but does not get picked up and processed by IE. It gets stuck in the queue so my configuration is somehow at fault. I have attached a picture of my private instance for webpagetest, the URLBlast.ini file and the directory where the job appeared.

Please see if you can give me any clue to fix this problem. To see the full picture, please widen your browser window.

Thanks for all your earlier help!

Regards!
Raza


Attached File(s) Image(s)
   
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 2 Guest(s)