Current time: 10-17-2018, 10:47 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Test locations don't show up in list
10-05-2018, 07:21 PM
Post: #1
Test locations don't show up in list
Hi all, I'm running in some problems in setting up a private instance in the Google Cloud. I believe my agents aren't communicating to the server. I have done the following:

1. I've installed the server on GCE according to https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpag..._server.md
2. Then, I've installed multiple test agents according to: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpag..._agents.md

My problem:
The server seems to work, but it doesn't show any locations to test on. According to my /install/ everything is green, except the test agents. It says they're not connected.
Code:
gce-us-east1-linux-loc : South Carolina, USA (Chrome,Firefox,Opera)
gce-us-east1-linux : South Carolina, USA - No Agents Connected

When I go to my server with ?hidden=1 added, I see the list of locations. So locations.ini is loaded properly.

But, I think the agents are not communicating to the server. Now, I've read a lot of threads where people post their wptdriver.ini. But I can't find them when I browse through the folders of the agents (via SSH, these are also on the GCE).

Do you guys have any idea what I'm doing wrong?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2018, 04:02 AM
Post: #2
RE: Test locations don't show up in list
The agents are configured through metadata (wpt_data key). If you configured the server using the script it should have provided the metadata string to use: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpag...r-software

Here are the steps for the agent instances: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpag..._agents.md

The main issue I have seen is that sometimes the auto-generated server name doesn't work. If you replace the server name in the wpt_server= part of the string with the private IP address of the instance (10.x.x.x) that usually clears it up.

The agents will also normally auto-identify their location based on the region they are running in so you can use a single template across all regions. If you want to use specific location ID's you can set up a template for each region and add wpt_loc= with the appropriate location ID (and the key).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2018, 12:57 PM
Post: #3
RE: Test locations don't show up in list
I'll just assume this will answer my question as well... https://www.webpagetest.org/forums/showt...?tid=15510
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2018, 12:51 AM
Post: #4
RE: Test locations don't show up in list
No luck with using the IP.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-08-2018, 01:05 AM
Post: #5
RE: Test locations don't show up in list
(10-07-2018 04:02 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  The agents are configured through metadata (wpt_data key). If you configured the server using the script it should have provided the metadata string to use: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpag...r-software

Here are the steps for the agent instances: https://github.com/WPO-Foundation/webpag..._agents.md

The main issue I have seen is that sometimes the auto-generated server name doesn't work. If you replace the server name in the wpt_server= part of the string with the private IP address of the instance (10.x.x.x) that usually clears it up.

The agents will also normally auto-identify their location based on the region they are running in so you can use a single template across all regions. If you want to use specific location ID's you can set up a template for each region and add wpt_loc= with the appropriate location ID (and the key).

Awesome! This worked. I changed the wpt_server to the ip address of the server and now I'm able to connect the agents.

For future reference, editing an agent doesn't work for long. You have to run the template again and add the ip of the server there during installing the template.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Yesterday, 06:09 AM (This post was last modified: Yesterday 06:35 AM by leathej1.)
Post: #6
RE: Test locations don't show up in list
I've tried, guys. My template uses my wpt-server public IP (tried internal IP as well), but I still see no agents.

I followed the documents exactly, with the exception of making both the server and the agent reside in us-west2.

Are there some logs I can check? Somewhere? Because Stackdriver is only showing happiness in the logs.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)