Current time: 12-09-2019, 02:26 AM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
10-03-2010, 09:25 AM
Post: #1
Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
Hi,

I'm trying to use a Windows 2008 server as a URLBlast agent (getting a windows 2003 seems more complicated lately).

When I follow the installation instructions for dummynet (which worked perfectly on Windows 2003 and XP), I get an "Unable to find any drivers for this device" message.

If I try to just run it despite not installing dummynet, the tests seem to start and immediately stop (the command prompt just "flashes"), and I get an empty result.

Any suggestions on what I could try? Is Windows 2008 even supposed to work?

Thanks,
Guypo
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2010, 09:58 AM (This post was last modified: 10-03-2010 10:01 AM by pmeenan.)
Post: #2
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
32 bit?

What you are seeing is what happens when dummynet isn't installed and the current build is 32-bit only (I've been meaning to try to get it working on 64-bit - I've been told the code works and that it's just a digital signing issue).

If you HAVE to use a 64-bit agent you can revert the locations.ini back to the old style (which includes a "connection=LAN" entry) and it shouldn't try to configure dummynet (though you'll be stuck with the single speed).

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-03-2010, 10:47 AM
Post: #3
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
Good catch, it's indeed 64 bit.

Using a single speed isn't a good option for me, so I'll find another agent machine. Looking forward to the 64 bit version when it comes around Smile

Thanks,
Guypo
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-06-2010, 04:31 PM
Post: #4
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
(10-03-2010 09:58 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  ..
If you HAVE to use a 64-bit agent you can revert the locations.ini back to the old style (which includes a "connection=LAN" entry) and it shouldn't try to configure dummynet (though you'll be stuck with the single speed).
Thanks,
-Pat

I tried the setting you mentioned. didn't seem to work. What am i missing? Below are the details.

All softwares to the latest version. DummyNet is NOT configured on Win 7 x64.
Webpagetest 2.0
=======================
Connectivity.ini
=======================
[LAN]
label="LAN"
bwIn=100000000
bwOut=20000000
latency=0
plr=0

=======================
Locations.ini
=======================
[locations]
1=Test_loc
default=Test_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test
default=Test
label=Test Location

[Test]
browser=IE 8
;latency=0
connection=LAN
label="Test Location"
localDir=E:\Web Site\content\work\jobs\test
key=TestKey123

=======================
URLBlast log
=======================
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 0 0 URLBlast Started
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 4 0 CPU String Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU E6550 @ 2.33GHz
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 5 2327 CPU MHz
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 6 3069 Total RAM (MB)
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 7 136015 Disk Size (MB)
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 8 135912 Disk Free (MB)
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 9 6 OS Version Windows Vista (6.1.7600 SP 0.0 Suite 0x00000100 Product 1)
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 10 0 Computer Name ******-TA21
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 11 8 IE Version 8.0.7600.16385
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 12 234 URLBlast Version 2.0.0.234
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Logging on user:user11, Password:*****

2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Logon ok, loading user profile

2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Profile loaded, locating profile directory

2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug DoUserLogon successful for user11

2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Waiting for startup synchronization
2010/10/04 17:07:46 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Running...
.....
2010/10/04 17:08:17 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Job of type 'text/plain' received
2010/10/04 17:08:17 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Url to be tested: http://******.com
2010/10/04 17:08:17 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Flushing DNS cache
2010/10/04 17:08:17 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug DnsFlushResolverCache returned 1
2010/10/04 17:08:17 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Executing 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
2010/10/04 17:08:18 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Successfully ran 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
2010/10/04 17:08:18 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug Flushing DNS cache
2010/10/04 17:08:18 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug DnsFlushResolverCache returned 1
2010/10/04 17:08:18 -1 21 1 20 0 Debug [urlblast] - Executing 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-02-2011, 06:53 PM
Post: #5
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
Hi guys,

I've just put the 2.2 agent on a win 2008, 64 bit agent machine.

As the guys above have experienced dummynet doesn't go on.

I reverted to using the connection parameter in locations.ini but think I'm still missing something.

My URLBLast just sits at running and with debug on is producing lines like:


Debug Requesting work from xxxx.int/work/getwork.php?location=Sydney_IE&key=TestKey123&pc=VM-MONITORING
Debug Job of type 'text/plain' received
Debug Url to be tested: http://www.xxxxxx.com.au
Debug Flushing DNS cache
Debug DnsFlushResolverCache returned 1
Debug Executing 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
Debug Successfully ran 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
Debug Uploading 22 byte file c:\ProgramData\urlblast\110602_KB_20-1.zip
Debug Flushing DNS cache
Debug DnsFlushResolverCache returned 1
Debug Executing 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
Debug Successfully ran 'ipconfig.exe /flushdns'
Debug Uploading 22 byte file C:\ProgramData\urlblast\110602_KB_20-1.zip
Debug Requesting work from xxxx.int/work/getwork.php?location=Sydney_IE&key=TestKey123&pc=VM-MONITORING

As always appreciate the amount of effort you guys put into WPT & can't thank you enough for you help....
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2011, 03:17 AM
Post: #6
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
Can you share your locations.ini file (just need to make sure the connection annotation is correct)?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2011, 08:06 AM
Post: #7
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
(06-03-2011 03:17 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Can you share your locations.ini file (just need to make sure the connection annotation is correct)?
Thanks Pat...

[locations]
1=Test_loc
2=Sydney_loc
default=Sydney_loc

[Test_loc]
1=Test_IE
2=Test_Chrome
default=Test_IE
label="Melbourne"
hidden=0

[Sydney_loc]
1=Sydney_IE
default=Sydney_IE
label="Sydney Monitoring"
hidden=0

[Test_IE]
browser=IE 7
browserExe=pagetest.exe
latency=0
label="IE 7"
;key=TestKey123

[Test_Chrome]
browser=Chrome
latency=0
label="Chrome"
localDir="D:\Web Site\content\work\jobs\test"
;key=TestKey123

[Sydney_IE]
browser=IE 7
browserExe=pagetest.exe
connection=DSL
latency=0
label="Sydney IE 7"
localDir=D:\webpagetest
key=TestKey123


and the connectivity.ini is as per sample:


[DSL]
label="DSL (1.5 Mbps/384 Kbps 50ms RTT)"
bwIn=1500000
bwOut=384000
latency=50
plr=0

[FIOS]
label="FIOS (20 Mbps/5 Mbps 4ms RTT)"
bwIn=20000000
bwOut=5000000
latency=4
plr=0

[Dial]
label="56K Dial-Up (49 Kbps/30 Kbps 120ms RTT)"
bwIn=49000
bwOut=30000
latency=120
plr=0
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2011, 09:44 AM
Post: #8
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
Change "connection=DSL" to "connectivity=DSL" and you should be all set.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
06-03-2011, 02:44 PM
Post: #9
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
(06-03-2011 09:44 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Change "connection=DSL" to "connectivity=DSL" and you should be all set.

Thanks Pat, that did the trick.

Jus
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-06-2013, 09:28 PM
Post: #10
RE: Dummynet on Windows Server 2008
Hi, I continue to face the same challenge ("Unable to find any drivers for this device") - I also looked to find the location.ini file but couldn't. Could someone please help where to find this particular file. I'm on Windows 2008 server 64 bit OS.
Thanks a bunch.
Kunal
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)