Current time: 05-24-2018, 04:29 PM Hello There, Guest! (LoginRegister)

Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 3 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
04-21-2011, 04:08 AM
Post: #1
Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
We have new Wordpress site www.nsi.ge

WebPageTest recomendation for me:
"If you are running a site based on WordPress, the W3 Total Cache plugin makes it easy to optimize your site."

We installed W3 Total Cache plugin, but I want to help for optimization this plugin. Please, can anybody help me ;)
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-21-2011, 09:59 AM
Post: #2
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
Have you followed the installation steps here: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/w3-t...tallation/ ?

I can probably walk you through some of the basics if you want to do the optimizations (otherwise there are other members here who are professionals who can do the actual work if you aren't comfortable doing it). Looking at a test result : http://www.webpagetest.org/result/110420...f32a9e656/ it looks like a couple of quick tweaks should be able to help significantly (start render 50% faster, repeat views significantly faster).
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-21-2011, 02:30 PM (This post was last modified: 04-21-2011 05:53 PM by David Dobo.)
Post: #3
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
(04-21-2011 09:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  ... I can probably walk you through some of the basics if you want to do the optimizations ...

Please, Patrick - I trust you.
and I can give you entrust our own password (for Wordpress > admin: xxx, password:xxx). help me, please to optimize this plugin to make it work more efficiently.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2011, 02:34 AM
Post: #4
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
(04-21-2011 09:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Have you followed the installation steps here: http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/w3-t...tallation/ ?

Hi, Pat.

(q. about W3 Total Cache)
After disabling some unnecessary plugins, I see a message:
"One or more plugins have been activated or deactivated, please [empty the page cache] and check your [minify settings] to maintain the desired user experience."

and what should I do? I'm afraid to spoil the site. Please, give me advice.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2011, 04:18 AM
Post: #5
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
Go ahead and click on the buttons for each. That's just for W3 TC to update the cached version of the pages - it's normal and expected.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2011, 05:21 AM
Post: #6
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
(04-24-2011 04:18 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  Go ahead and click on the buttons for each. That's just for W3 TC to update the cached version of the pages - it's normal and expected.

Thanks Pat Wink
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-24-2011, 09:45 PM
Post: #7
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
(04-21-2011 09:59 AM)pmeenan Wrote:  I can probably walk you through some of the basics if you want ... ...

Dear Pat,

Is it tests real? - our site load time = 2.1 sec.?
This test is differetnt rather than WebPageTest results:
http://tools.pingdom.com/?url=nsi.ge&tre...&save=true
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-26-2011, 07:12 AM
Post: #8
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
Be a little careful using pingdom for performance tests. They run the tests at backbone speeds and use a simulated browser (that doesn't execute javascript). It is good for testing availability but I wouldn't recommend using the performance numbers from there.

I believe gtmetrix, browser mob and yottaa all have spot-tests available that use real browsers (though they all run at backbone speeds so understand that real results are likely to be slower for most users).

Thanks,

-Pat
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2011, 12:20 AM
Post: #9
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
The plugin is not easy to use. Moreover, optimization requires code fixing in most cases.

This is a bite of my experience http://mytech.dsa.me/en/site-optimizatio...e-problems
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-28-2011, 12:30 AM
Post: #10
RE: Help me to optimize "W3 TC" plugin for WP
I'm not sure I'd agree with that assessment. Yes, turning on some of the features requires more than just checking a checkbox but I've used it on several non-trivial sites so far and haven't had any issues. The author is the CTO at Mashable where it is also used and there are a lot more favorable reviews than negative ones.

On the whole it's a LOT easier than hand-optimizing a wordpress site, particularly one with lots of plugins but it's not as easy as if wordpress were just fast by itself. Make sure to provide feedback and ask questions directly in the forums area for W3 TC and I'm sure they will be addressed.
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)